ECN Forum
Posted By: Dave55 INTRODUCTIONS - 11/14/04 02:41 PM
I thought it might be helpful if we introduced ourselves and described our operations, so...

I'm a loner/one-man-show. I work out of my home with a 1/2-ton pickup (and a one-truck garage). My overhead is very low, which serves me well during the slow spells. I've been a registered electrician in Illinois for ten years.

For ten years prior I had a repair/remodeling business, so I had a customer base when I made the switch. Before that I was a machine electrician.

I do residential-after-the-builder (builders around here are low-bid, cut-throat), and have a good ongoing commercial job nearby.

That's about it...look forward to the posts in this area.

Dave
Posted By: andyp95 Re: INTRODUCTIONS - 11/14/04 06:21 PM
Good idea Dave

Some may remember me from visiting the Wed. night chat when I had the time.
I also have a one man show.Been master licensed in VT and NH since 1995,went into business in 1998 after 15 years of making others money.I had a couple of employees until last year and decided it was more enjoyable for me to go solo.I also work mostly in the service/remodeling end now,though I started out in the trade as mainly working commercial/industrial.
I also teach the 3rd year course for the state registered apprentices at the local vo-tech 2 nights a week since 2002.
Andy
Posted By: iwire Re: INTRODUCTIONS - 11/14/04 06:27 PM
Dave great idea. [Linked Image]

Can you send me an email?

Use the button at the top of my post

Bob

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 11-14-2004).]
Posted By: Tom Re: INTRODUCTIONS - 11/14/04 10:15 PM
I've been self employed for quite some time, not sure that I want to admit just exactly how long that has been.

I used to have a few employees years ago, but finally came to the realization that it wasn't worth the paperwork & it took me away from what I really like to do which is electrical work.