ECN Forum
Posted By: JG Question for inspectors - 12/04/04 05:06 PM
Atr. 300.13-b Do you require all neutrals to be made up prior to a rough. I have noticed more and more not adhering to this practice, just stab and go.
JG
Posted By: iwire Re: Question for inspectors - 12/04/04 05:12 PM
Welcome to the forum JG.

I am not an inspector but I do get inspected. [Linked Image]

Here in MA all required splices must be made up prior to rough inspections.

The section you quoted only applies to the neutral of multiwire branch circuits so we do not have to splice the neutrals of two wire circuits.

Bob
Posted By: George Little Re: Question for inspectors - 12/04/04 05:29 PM
The code only requires that the multiwire branch circuit have "pigtail" connections on the grounded conductor so we don't interrupt the connection to the next outlet. Do it anytime you want to. As an inspector, I want to see it so maybe this will be on the final with the cover plates removed and the receptacles dangling so I can see that pigtail [Linked Image]
If I were an installer, I'd do it for inspection on the rough just from a practical approach. Same thing on a NM job, strip and splice out, terminate the grounds if using metal boxes. Not a code requirement but makes it easier for all of us.

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]
Posted By: BigB Re: Question for inspectors - 12/05/04 12:21 AM
George, if you don't mind my asking, just what do you really look for at the final? Do you check each and every device? Should they all be hanging out of the box? No cover plates? What about fixtures?
I have done very little new construction and have never been present at a final for new const., so this is why I ask.
Thanks, B
Posted By: iwire Re: Question for inspectors - 12/05/04 12:36 AM
I could fail a final inspection for a missing cover. [Linked Image]