ECN Forum
Posted By: Haligan GFCI breaker vs recepticle for 210.8a - 02/04/10 12:38 AM
Both are permissible, so how to decide?

With the breaker it's more of a hassle to run to the panel to reset, especially if it's at a distance, even more so if you're wet and naked.
But I can't remember the last time I've seen a GFCI trip.

opinions anyone?
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: GFCI breaker vs recepticle for 210.8a - 02/04/10 01:00 AM
IMHO, it's a design issue, as both are NEC compliant. Also, it's a convenience thing, as you said regarding running and wet.

As to tripping, the one for my laundry circuit tripped a few weeks back...reason unknown. As an inspector, I 'trip' quite a few each day (hopefully).

A personal opinion of mine is a few McMansions that have a GFI in the powder room (first floor) that runs thru to a few other baths. But, that's a design issue!

Posted By: ghost307 Re: GFCI breaker vs recepticle for 210.8a - 02/04/10 03:34 PM
The problem that I see with chaining GFI receptacles in several bathrooms is that inevitably someone will be using the bathroom that the reset button is in while I'm wet and naked in the corridor banging on the door because the bathroom that I was in is downstream of it.

"Murphy was an optimist"
Posted By: Rewire Re: GFCI breaker vs recepticle for 210.8a - 02/05/10 10:26 PM
A GFI receptacle is alot less cost than a GFI breaker.Although legal by code I would never recommend daisy chaining bath recepts.The last custom we did actually had two circuits for the master bath receptacles.
Posted By: Haligan Re: GFCI breaker vs recepticle for 210.8a - 02/05/10 11:14 PM
It's a tiny bathroom. 1 sink. I'm only putting 2 receps for convenience. They'll be the only things on the dedicated 20a, and I'm wiring them in parallel.

The 20a gfci breaker is already in the panel from somebody before me.