ECN Forum
Posted By: Happi_Man GFCI Code - 05/31/06 05:06 PM
I've got an inspector telling me that I need to GFI protect the washer outlet because it is within 6' of a utility sink in the laundry room.

Does this make sense to anyone? Its a dedicated 20 AMP Appliance receptacle, right? Isn't the washer itself a big tub of water? I'm not sure what the issue is unless they are worried someone might pick up the washing machine and drop it in the sink...

We put a GFI device in the convenience outlet after he red tagged it the first time. He didn't specify that he wanted a gfi in the washer outlet...oh but he does want a $100 reinspection fee...

Any thoughts?
Posted By: George Little Re: GFCI Code - 05/31/06 05:27 PM
I think the courts would be interested in how he can justify that amount of re-inspection fee and I'm an inspector.
Posted By: Happi_Man Re: GFCI Code - 05/31/06 05:35 PM
So as an inspector would you say that this red tag legitimate?
Posted By: Alan Nadon Re: GFCI Code - 05/31/06 05:39 PM
210.8 (A) (5) for GFI in the unfinished basement had exceptions. However (7) for the Deep sink / wet bar there are NO exceptions.
$100 reinspect ? My permit fee isn't that high for a new house with 200 amp service.
Alan--
Posted By: Happi_Man Re: GFCI Code - 05/31/06 06:28 PM
So, then it doesn't apply to the disposal and dishwasher. Mysteriously its not necessary to have those on a GFI...

Again, as an inspector would you think it might be common courtesy to specify such an obscure situation, i.e. that you are talking about the washer outlet and not the convenience outlet?

Its not like we can find a single GFCI device right? I basically have to run a new feed into a faceless GFI and then re-feed the washer outlet...sound right?

Thanks for your input by the way because the alternative is a really nasty exchange with this inspector and I do appreciate not having to put up with the conflict...

[This message has been edited by Happi_Man (edited 05-31-2006).]