ECN Forum
Posted By: Wrangler Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 04:01 PM
Hi All,
I am going through the thought process of a career change. I am very interested in apprenticing and I have no previous elec experience...other than Do-it-yourself stuff. I was curious about some of the members thoughts on how realistic I am being...I am 42yo and am thinking maybe No-one would be interested in bringing on a man of my age. The market seems pretty hot in this area. Would appreciate a few opinions.

Thanks
Posted By: macmikeman Re: Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 05:01 PM
"If it feels good do it" John Lennon.
Posted By: J_Erickson Re: Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 05:48 PM
I hired a 42 year old apprentice a few years ago. He's still with me and doing great. He was an experienced hvac installer who was very unhappy with his company and the hvac in general. Personally the age would be no factor at all. Do you have construction experience?
Posted By: Wrangler Re: Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 05:58 PM
No construction experience other than working in my own place doing Hardwood floors and some drywalling.
Posted By: Luketrician Re: Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 06:10 PM
Good luck Wrangler, you would not be the first and surley not the last older apprentice. Good luck if you decide to do so.

Luke
Posted By: renosteinke Re: Too old to Apprentice? - 12/09/06 06:45 PM
I saw an apprenticeship class that started with 50 .... and, four years later, had dwindled to 18. The three oldest members were there at the finish.

Indeed, one of them had not been officially 'sponsored,' and had to pay his own way. He worked for a non-member EC, and ... silly as this sounds... had his EC license before he could get a "journeyman" card.

I don't know what it is that folks fear about an "older" apprentice. Heck, I was past 30 before I was ready to actually start learning!