ECN Forum
Posted By: Clydesdale I want to get into commercial work - 02/16/06 05:03 AM
What's the best way to get into commercial work? I seem to have trouble convincing the guy interviewing me that I can learn it even though I have very little experience. I currently run my own jobs(residential new construction). my boss checks my work and it's on to the next one. I just started bending pipe and I know good and well that if I was exposed to pipe every day, that it wouldn't be long(relatively speaking) before I became highly skilled at it. I work for another contractor nights, and weekends, so I put in more hours than most guys which is why I believe my learning curve seems to be higher than most....ok..i hate to hype myself up...but I suppose I am only trying to phsyche myself up for the next interview.

Can anyone give me hints on how to sell myself more evffectively?

I have 3 years experience.
Posted By: macmikeman Re: I want to get into commercial work - 02/16/06 06:51 AM
Switch employers. Commercial is boatloads of fun to learn. You will not often get to thread and bend much 4"grc on a residential job. Or hookup transformers and switchgear. Pay attention when working on lighting fixtures, some of them will be at 277 volts and take it from me, it hurts to get shocked from that guy. If you live out in the sticks though you are not going to get exposed to that much of commercial so location plays a big factor. Good luck and happy bending.
Posted By: Mash Re: I want to get into commercial work - 02/16/06 08:25 AM
Consider this. If you are an employer what is easier, 1 change you to commercial and have to get a good residential guy (2 people to train) or just get a commercial guy to train, (1 guy to train) sometimes if you are good at your job people dont want to move you. But they may rethink it if you were going to leave, no one wants to lose good people!
Posted By: e57 Re: I want to get into commercial work - 02/16/06 09:10 AM