ECN Forum
Posted By: Trumpy Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 11:19 AM
Vehicles are getting cheaper by the second the world over.
What is your preference as far as the gear- stick goes?.
I, like a lot of people learned to drive in a manual and I like to have control over the engine while I'm driving.
In fact, I'd sooner have a 5 spd gearbox than any Auto any day.
Your thoughts?.
Can you prove me wrong?. [Linked Image]
Posted By: walrus Re: Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 11:32 AM
When I was younger I loved a manual tranny( I still do in my 67 mustang) but I'm old and lazy now [Linked Image] so I prefer an automatic in my work truck. Don't have to pay attention to shifting that way I can drink coffee, read the paper and talk on my cell while driving [Linked Image]
Posted By: pauluk Re: Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 12:34 PM
I'll drive either. I always had manual in my earlier driving days, but I've been driving automatic for a good many years since I decided to buy American vehicles.

A lot of Brits have an aversion to automatic transmissions though, so I'm quite possibly in a minority here. Automatics are much less common here than in the States.
Posted By: Larry Fine Re: Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 01:48 PM
My first car was a '65 Corvair with a 4-speed. My second car was a '69 Camaro convertible with an automatic.

All of my vehicles are now automatics. The cell phone takes up my other hand.
Posted By: Radar Re: Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 02:46 PM
Never gave it much thought until I bought a pickup with a floor stick - then had to drive it on LA freeways in stop-N-go traffic daily. For years. I think I prefer a stick in all situations except 1) stop-N-go traffic, and 2) driving uphill in San Francisco.

Radar
Posted By: mamills Re: Poll: Manual or Auto?? - 02/15/06 03:47 PM