ECN Forum
Posted By: Mike82 electrical engineer to electrician - 02/11/06 08:53 PM
I am an electrical engineer working for a large defense contractor. While the money is good and the job is cushy, it is true that money isn't everything, and the job does not offer much satisfaction- sitting behind a computer and updating documentation is not my thing. I know that I need to do something much more hands on.

I've always enjoyed electrical work and so I've decided to apply for an apprenticeship through the local union. I realize that I may take a pay cut for a little while, but in the end it may be worth it in job satisfaction.

My question is, have any of you ever switched from engineering or another professional occupation to the electrical trade? After finishing your apprenticeship training, did you feel that the switch was worth it? Just wanted to hear about some of your experiences!
Posted By: mahlere Re: electrical engineer to electrician - 02/11/06 09:03 PM
nah, most of us look to switch this field to anything else ;-)

truthfully, a lot will have to do with your current situation:

married? family? age?

if you are young and single it's alot different than if you are trying to support a wife and two kids on an apprentice's wage.

I know this doesn't really answer your questions, but good luck.
Posted By: Mike82 Re: electrical engineer to electrician - 02/11/06 09:07 PM
Well I'm 23 years old and currently single. Although the area I live in is high cost of living. I realize that a few years down the road the I'll be earning the same if not more than I do now as an engineer.

I was thinking that combining practical experience of being an electrician with being an engineer, it might help me if I ever want to go into management or have a contracting business. I'd kind of like to focus on the industrial side of the trade- PLCs, motor control, automation, etc.
Posted By: Roger Re: electrical engineer to electrician - 02/11/06 09:23 PM