ECN Forum
Posted By: Rob 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/22/05 05:54 PM
Could not find in code book, kept refering to grounds and GFI.
Refrigerator circuit for a residential
apartment that is being updated.
I know that two 20 amp circuits are required for the counter top and need gfi protection.
But what about the fridge wire.
The fridge is on a shared circuit currently.
My background is HVAC so forgive my ignorance.
Posted By: Roger Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/22/05 07:12 PM
Rob, see 210.52(B)(1) and it's exceptions for your answer.

Roger
Posted By: Rob Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/22/05 08:18 PM
Rodger thank you.
I read it and exception No.2

Thanks again
Posted By: Roger Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/22/05 09:07 PM
You're welcome Rob.

Roger
Posted By: HLCbuild Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/23/05 12:57 AM
Rob,
If it is any help, in all my kitchen remodels,I always start on of my small appliance circuits at the refrigerator with a non-GFI protected receptacle, then go to the next recept. and put in my GFI. It keeps the refrig from going out due to a GFI trip.
Posted By: gfretwell Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/23/05 01:40 AM
If you go with a 20a for the fridge you can also feed those receptacles in the eating/cooking area that do not serve the countertop, without a GFCI. It may be a questionable design choice though. Lupe plugs the vacuum in, pops the breaker, moves on to another outlet to finish and all the food spoils.
Posted By: Redsy Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/23/05 11:35 PM
New construction or remodel, I believe that a dedicated refrigerator circuit is a good idea. Don't anyone get mad, but anything less, although it meets code, is skimping.
Posted By: ShockMe77 Re: 15 or 20 to Refrigerator circuit - 11/24/05 12:52 AM