ECN Forum
Posted By: Dave55 Hilti Ground Rod Driver - 10/22/04 01:55 PM
I know this has been covered in other threads, I did a search through the archives. I'm looking at Hilti demolition hammers, but would really prefer a combo unit in case I want to core or drill. For the price of these ($1200-$1450) I'd like it to do more than pound ground rods.

The soil around here (swampland, Illinois) is better than Arizona. I can get a ground rod in with a 4 lb. hammer in about 30 minutes when it's tough. I don't know how anyone uses a sledge. I'd probably miss the rod & hit my leg. I may also opt for the cheap pipe with sledge head welded on.

So the question is what model do you have, how is it holding it 8' up with ground rods? If you use it for drilling or coring, what size holes, etc.? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

I've never used these before & its about triple what I usually spend on tools. I want to make sure it will be my new best friend.

Dave
Posted By: twh Re: Hilti Ground Rod Driver - 10/22/04 11:21 PM
I worked at a place that used a Hilti TE60 or similar (too long ago to remember) with the proper 'bit'. It was great! Pounded a 10 foot rod in a few minutes.

I'm a little embarrassed to say what it's like holding it up on a 10 foot rod. Would it suffice to say that no ladders were involved?
Posted By: Joey D Re: Hilti Ground Rod Driver - 10/23/04 12:02 AM
I have a TE76 and use it mostly for ground rods but do blast holes in foundations with it as well. When I install a rod strait down I drill down 1st with my long bit then start the rod by hand then just put the Hilti on it and shoot it in. Only takes a few seconds or a minute at best if it it tough.
Posted By: Dallas Re: Hilti Ground Rod Driver - 10/23/04 04:36 AM
I've got a 1-1/2" Milwaukee roto-hammer I use for ground rods. Certainly has made me a bit lazier about driving rods.

Just out of curiousity, has anyone ever used a big cup of water and drove one hydraulically?