ECN Forum
Posted By: DYNAMITE 600A Church Service - 06/02/04 09:29 PM
Hi I'm a new Contractor (just over a year) and I'm doing a Church with a 600A service with 4 25kW electric furnaces.
What would be the best (and most economical) way to do this service?
any ideas?
Posted By: iwire Re: 600A Church Service - 06/02/04 09:49 PM
From 600 amp metering out to three 200 amp main breaker panels.

I think that would be the least money in equipment.

It also provides 126 poles right from the start.

Just my guess. [Linked Image]

Bob
Posted By: DYNAMITE Re: 600A Church Service - 06/02/04 10:39 PM
How can you put 4- 107 amp furnaces in those panels. Correct me if I'm Wrong but you wouldn't put more than 1 per 200a panel.
Also they might even upgrade to 30kW(128A) furnaces.
Posted By: CDN_ELECTRICIAN Re: 600A Church Service - 06/02/04 11:36 PM
DYNAMITE

This is assuming the feeders are 120/240 1 phase 3 wire?

Without knowing if there is any space limitations, your best option would probably be:

600 Amp Main fused Disconnect > 600 amp splitter
install 4 x 200 amp fused disconnects off above splitter, wired from splitter to load side @ 200 amp and fuse for smaller units. (if upgrade on furnaces happen then it's only a fuse change
Then come off splitter distribution panel (you can use the tap rule to keep panel size down, so it dose not need to be 600 amp. i.e. depending on load and circuits required maybe a panel with 400 or 225 amp mains will be good)
Posted By: iwire Re: 600A Church Service - 06/03/04 12:08 AM
DYNAMITE.

I assumed 3 phase - 480, sorry. [Linked Image]
Posted By: iwire Re: 600A Church Service - 06/03/04 12:13 AM
CDN_ELECTRICIAN

Why would you need the 600 Amp Main fused Disconnect?

If the power company wants / allows hot sequence metering the main is not needed.

Bob
Posted By: Bjarney Re: 600A Church Service - 06/03/04 02:24 AM