ECN Forum
Posted By: BigB survey: barrel crimps or greenies - 05/24/04 02:48 AM
When making up boxes, how many prefer barrel crimps for the grounding conductors and how many prefer the green wirenuts with the hole in the end? Or do some just use a regular wirenut and add a pigtail? I have been using the barrel crimps but I ran out Friday and finished up with some greenies I had in my truck. I kind of liked the result plus it would mean one less tool to carry in my belt. I haven't really used them a lot as I still remember when I was an apprentice the greenies were scoffed at by the journeymen.
BigB
Posted By: NJwirenut Re: survey: barrel crimps or greenies - 05/24/04 03:05 AM
I like the greenies, or better yet, the "Term-A-Nut" grounding pigtails from Ideal. A greenie with an attached double pigtail--a ringlug w/ green screw to bond the box, and a spade lug to connect to the device grounding screw.

[Linked Image from idealindustries.com]
Posted By: zapped208 Re: survey: barrel crimps or greenies - 05/24/04 09:46 AM
Crimp sleeves is what I use, they do not take up any precious space up in a box, unlike a greenie or wirenut.
The Term-a-Nut is a good idea, but the price is not cost effective.
You can buy 3-4 boxes of crimps for the price of 25 Term-A- Nuts. JMHO.
Posted By: iwire Re: survey: barrel crimps or greenies - 05/24/04 10:36 AM
We do not use either, we use standard wire nuts.

The greenies would not e very helpful as most of our grounds are fully insulated.

IMO the "Term-A-Nuts" are not worth the money they cost. They do look great and are easy to use.

I have not installed a barrel crimp in 20 years, I never liked them, IMO when you use them with a group of 12 AWG solid the crimp loosens when you push the wires back in the box, IMO they make a lousy connection.

If space in the box is that tight I suggest roughing with larger boxes. [Linked Image]

JMO, Bob
Posted By: ElectricAL Re: survey: barrel crimps or greenies - 05/24/04 01:50 PM