ECN Forum
Posted By: rj GFI Breakers - 05/07/04 02:22 AM
I was wondeing if anyone knew a good site about GFI breakers. I have installed a few but would like more information on them. The ones I have installed are on a snow melt system. 4 of them held but the 5 of them tripped out. I have never worked with them before. Thanks
Posted By: Jps1006 Re: GFI Breakers - 05/07/04 02:30 AM
Class A GFI trips at minimum (I think) 3 milliamp to maximum 5 milliamp. This is GFI protection for personnel. What you want for your application is a class B GFI which will hold until 30 milliamps. This is GFI protection for equipment. It will avoid nuisance tripping, but be prepared to pay a little more.

Sorry, I don't have any links. I hope this helps.
Posted By: JBD Re: GFI Breakers - 05/07/04 03:03 PM
GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupters) is a specific term for products which are used for personnel protection. UL Standards for Class A GFCI listing requires these devices to trip when they sense a ground fault of 6mA or more. They must not trip on currents as low as 4mA. The actual maximum tripping time (for 6 to 264mA) is found by the formula T = (20/I)^1.43, where T is in seconds and I is in mA. UL also requires the test button on the GFCI to simulate a fault thereby indicating proper operation.

ALCI (appliance leakage circuit interrupter), a subset of GFCI devices, are intended for use with appliances such as hair dryers.

GFPE (ground fault protection - equipment)and ELCI (equipment leakage circuit interrupter) are generic terms used to describe devices which protect at the 30mA level.