ECN Forum
Posted By: aznewsh Underground supply - 09/28/03 03:10 PM
I live in Arizona, I have just built a detached 2 car garage, since the electric supply is much closer to the garage than my house I propose to drop the overhead supply down onto the garage or rather the electrical company will. Then i intend to feed a breaker box in the garage and run a supply underground up to the house.
I have already dug the trench and got the 2" PVC conduit and cable.

I worked as an electrician in England and am a little unsure about American wiring, I am not sure how many cables I need to pull through the conduit, the existing electrical company overhead line has 2, I have been told that I need to run three - what are the three wires for, I can see live and neutral would equal two, is there two hots and if so why?
thanks
Posted By: Tom Re: Underground supply - 09/28/03 03:47 PM
To cover all bases, I recommend a 4 wire feeder. This would consist of two hot wires,the neutral and an equipment ground.

At the panel in the house, the neutral must be insulated from ground.

You will need to drive an additional two ground rods at the house & connect them to the equipment ground bus of the house panel.

The house panel will need a main breaker.

The panel with a main breaker will need to be located nearest the point of entrance of the feeder, just as a service disconnect would be.

There are some other code issues involved, I'll let better typists than me tackle them.

Tom
Posted By: aznewsh Re: Underground supply - 09/28/03 04:53 PM
Thanks for the reply,

I assume by 'an equipment ground' you are referring to the ground that I already have at the house and would not be required in the conduit?