ECN Forum
Posted By: gunther Sidecutters as Strippers - 09/18/03 09:16 AM
A lot of residential wireman in this area use their sidecutters as strippers, even though they do not have a manufactured stripping hole in them. I maintain that these pliers are neither designed or rated for stripping wire and it is far too easy to nick the wire. I have heard reports that they are ordered to do this because it is faster, and I actually saw one of those home remodel tv shows where the EC on the job was demonstrating stripping wires and making joints by this method. Any comments, or do you think, as someone said when I questioned them about it that "you don't know what you are talking about"?
Posted By: zapped208 Re: Sidecutters as Strippers - 09/18/03 10:10 AM
I have been doing It this way for 25 years! I do own a pair of T strippers though,less tools to carry!
Posted By: George Corron Re: Sidecutters as Strippers - 09/18/03 11:26 AM
Been doing it that way for over 30 years. Course, that don't make it right.

I hate to admit to this, but the only time it was wrong was when we used aluminum or copper clad conductors, it weakens the conductor pretty badly.

I've had to administer/inspect/engineer some highly technical large scale projects and have done some fairly extensive research into this practice. I could find no definitive evidence that this was harmful, at least to copper conductors. If the guys are comfortable doing it this way, I see no reason to alter their practice, like we said, it's been done that way a very long time.
Posted By: Electricmanscott Re: Sidecutters as Strippers - 09/18/03 07:14 PM
Oh great now I have to worry about violating the rating of my tools. As someone said "You don't know what your talkking about!" I am guessing you don't work in the trade.
Posted By: iwire Re: Sidecutters as Strippers - 09/18/03 07:38 PM
Wow! I have been doing it wrong for 20 years. [Linked Image]