ECN Forum
I wired an addition for a residential remodel job. We ran two new 20-amp circuits from the main electrical panel to the new addition.

We used one 20-amp circuit for the north side of the addition and the other 20-amp circuit for the south side of the addition.

We ran a 12/3 romex cable from the main electrical panel to feed the addition.

I failed inspection. Inspector wants us to install a double pole 20-amp breaker for these circuits. His reasoning is that if you only turn off one circuit breaker. There is a potential danger because the neutral could still have a load on it.

Is this new? Is he right? I am going to comply. So we can pass inspection and get paid. I have never done this before. When one circuit overloads or short circuits, then both circuits will trip and kill power to the whole addition. This does not seem right to me.

Can any inspectors out there update me?

Thank You,

Tev
Posted By: Ryan_J Re: Failed Inspection, need two pole breaker - 09/16/03 07:57 PM
210.4(B) is a very misinterpreted code article, as your inspector has proven. I have never seen a multi-wire branch circuit with each phase on the same yoke (other than a 240 volt outlet), and doubt that I ever will. The only instance I could see this happening on is a switched receptacle where the electrician wants all the lights (including the switched potion of the receptacle) on one circuit, and all of the receptacles (including the unswitched portion) on another circuit, and he/she chooses to do it with a multi-wire branch circuit.
You are only required to use a two pole breaker where both legs land on a single device on one yoke strap such as a split wired receptacle. (Very common for a dishwasher and disposal circuit) If you ran the 12/3 to a junction box and than ran your two wire from there two single pole breakers will suffice. Be sure to put them on opposite phases.
Tev,

I agree with the others, it's not in the NEC.