ECN Forum
Posted By: rowdyrudy Pride in Workmanship - 09/05/03 07:32 PM
I was an apprentice working with my dad. This was in about 1948. We were installing 1-1/4” EMT above a dropped ceiling. The EMT needed a kick. My dad bent it and handed it up to me. It wasn’t bent quite enough but I forced it onto the coupling. My dad said “Does it fit”? I said not quite but I made it. He said “Give it back to me”. I said why, no one’s going to see it. I have never forgotten his reply, “But I’ll know it’s there”!
Rowdy
Posted By: rmiell Re: Pride in Workmanship - 09/05/03 08:46 PM
Sounds like a good man. You sound like a better man for not forgetting. Man, I wish I knew 1/2 of what my dad did. Sure miss him!!

Rick
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Pride in Workmanship - 09/05/03 10:24 PM
Rowdy,
“But I’ll know it’s there”!
This is one thing I have been trying to instill into the apprentices that I have trained.
A Tradesman is measured by thier workmanship or lack there of. [Linked Image]
Just can't stand the sight of rough or un-tidy Installation work!.
Posted By: Joe Tedesco Re: Pride in Workmanship - 09/05/03 10:47 PM
I too can remember my dad, he was a tough guy and taught me the trade.

He once made me straighten out the tubing on a wall because his level showed where it was not straight, I said dad I only followed the block on the wall!

I say that they were "Seasoned Mechanics" and without them where would we be today.

Any young person starting out in our trade has it a bit easier now and they too will follow to help others learn this trade.

Joe
Posted By: Joe Tedesco Re: Pride in Workmanship - 09/05/03 10:48 PM

[This message has been edited by Joe Tedesco (edited 09-06-2003).]
Posted By: ga.sparky56 Re: Pride in Workmanship - 09/06/03 12:28 AM
My Dad was an inspector for the state DOT. I once saw him stop a major concrete pour on a bridge because neither the rebar or the concrete was in spec.