ECN Forum
Sad to say I've been an electrician for a long time and have never completely wired up a house from start to finish. Do most EC's have a pattern they follow?

Like:

1)install service
2)hang all boxes
3)make homeruns
4)make device runs
5)finish

I'm sure my list will be disected thoroughly but that's OK. [Linked Image]
The way my Boss usually does it (here in conduit country):

[IIRC - it's late, and I'm not even halfway through a 36 hour shift, so I apologize in advance [Linked Image] ]

Install Temp Service

Install meter box, service entrance, and MPB (typically in basement)

Run "jumpers" from temp service through service entrance to MPB - we usually mount (2) 1900's piggybacked to the MPB as temporary outlets.

Find likely (or convenient) path. Run 1 pipe 2fl to MPB. Install 2 1900 boxes on each floor, and run to the MPB. Connect 4 duplex 20a recepts for contractors (mainly us) for lights and drills. This will be pulled later, and incorporated into house. Connect with appropriate conductors based on distance - I think he usually pulls 10 awg cu - 4 circuits on 20a breakers.

The next two are done simultaneously:

Re-review plans, and "spot" 1900's in each area (rooms, halls, attic, garage) for recepts, sw's; spot octagons for sconces, fan support boxes, etc. Indicate home run box (typically a deep 1900 used for switches in finished install), or feed from/to other rooms if no HR in area. Tack mount your can lights.

Conduit runs stubbed from MPB up to 1fl (# of runs determined by # of rooms, special needs, SP's, etc) - usually 3/4 EMT for HR's

Pipe each area from area outlets to area HR box, and all 3 and 4 (and 5) way switch runs.

Complete all HR's from areas to stubs from basement.

Pull wires in rooms. # in HR based on # of circuits in room, special needs/demands, etc (DUH). Try to remember to label your runs - saves time and guess work later!

Affix plaster rings for 1900's, and caps for octagons/fan support boxes.