ECN Forum
I am not sure where this post belongs but I am an industrial electrician working in the mining industry. We have ground fault indicator lights on our 3 phase delta system which makes it easier to locate a ground fault issue. . . . one of the trhee lights go out and we just start shutting equipnebt down until we isolate the problem and all three lights are on. Recently we have had a situation where all three lights flicker for several minutes at a time which is something new. I understand the theory ofthe ground fault circuit but am puzzled as to what might cause all three lights to flicker as though there might be some tracking on all three phases. The problem doesn't appear to be isolated to just one transformer in our substation but has been showing up on a couple of different ones. Anyone else have experience with this?
jmaclean:
Good morning & welcome to ECN forums from one of the 'Jersey guys'
A light goes out when that phase gets grounded. The lights go out when there is no power too. Could the flickering ground lights be due to intermintant connections?
Originally Posted by LarryC
A light goes out when that phase gets grounded. The lights go out when there is no power too. Could the flickering ground lights be due to intermintant connections?

Thanks for the replies, guys. The scenario of the intermittent connections is possible but this occurs in several different MCC's throughout the mill and on at least two subtation transformers.
You wouldn't have any VFDs bouncing back harmonic echoes?

====

While there are various ways...

One VFD scheme uses a 'low pass filter' to establish a 'DC tank' -- in the form of a very hefty capacitor, or two... which is then drained by IGBTs to craft AC wave forms by stacking DC transient impedances.

If these massive capacitors cause enough phase shift then the indicator lights would read 'dead.'