ECN Forum
Posted By: Delectric Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 03:11 AM
I had a couple of outlets go out in my house. I went to change them and to my suprise I found Scotchlocks instead of wire nuts. I have been a comercial/industrial electrician for about 14 years or so and have never seen this. I do know sometimes residential wiring gets done a little half horsed so I called 3M thinking maybe this was sometimes practiced 30 years ago but of course 3M said 12 volt only. I plan to change it all out but wanted to know if anyone here has seen this before, other than automotive anyway.
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 03:28 AM
You mean them dodgy things they use to "tap" into wiring looms in cars?

I've never liked the use of them even in the application they were designed for, let alone in a house!
Posted By: Delectric Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 04:02 AM
Those be the things. i have used them in various vehicles of mine but never on 120v. Heres a pic-

http://site.innovationestore.com/images/family.php?id=3m-scotchlok-electrical-idc-804
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 04:38 AM
Yeah,
That's them.
Designed for those that can't use basic hand-tools like strippers and screwdrivers.
Posted By: leland Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 05:26 AM
In a home? Never.
Mid -late 80's, thats all we used for our temp lights. Run the NM and strip back at the bulb location and use these with the pig tails.
Posted By: electure Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 05:35 AM
We use them in continuous row lighting applications, and never had a failure.

Model 567 is rated 600V general purpose and 1000V in signs and fixtures, #12 Run and #18 Tap.

They're a lot faster than to cut, strip, and wirenut all the connections

3M calls them "insulation displacement connectors"
Posted By: Niko Re: Ever heard of or seen this - 01/29/09 04:23 PM
I see those in homes all the time and they always give trouble.