ECN Forum
Posted By: Samurai National (USA) lisencing - informal survey. - 07/25/08 06:23 PM
I'll give a little background first, I have a master electrician's license in Florida. Work in Florida has all but ground to a halt with exception of some very large companies; but there are lots of places elsewhere looking for licensed journeymen. I wonder why there isn't a national minimum recognition of a master's license in one state as at least a journeyman everywhere else. the tests are all based on national code a downgrade to journeyman elsewhere also removes the immediate threat of competition coming along from someplace else. I'd like to hear thoughts on this.
I'm not sure I understand your complaint, question, or desire.

True, the trade is regulated in widely varying ways in different places. It is also true that this regulation is often claimed to primarily exist for restricting competition.

Yet, such claims need support. It's just too easy an assertion to make. Ditto for similarly cynical claims as to access to apprenticeship programs.

Whatever credentials you have, they will be critical in placement of you by the various trade-related employment services.

Bear in mind that the market in understandably cautious; I'm sure you have seen all manner of poor work performed by supposedly qualified persons.
We have inter provincial trades in Canada

http://www.red-seal.ca/Site/trades/index_e.htm

Electrician being one of them