ECN Forum
Posted By: Chris21 Apprentice Electrician Need help - 09/18/07 09:16 PM
I am an apprentice electrician. I only have 1 1/2 years experience in new residential contruction. I live with my parents. They have a problem. Lights flicker and sometimes power is lost to some things but not others. No circuit breakers are ever tripped. The power comes on to whatever is affected usually within 10-15 minutes. More than one circuit is affected by this. I replaced their old Zinsco circuit breaker box because I've read that this could be a source of the problem and sice I've read where they are a fire hazard anyway so I thought it would be the first place to start. Although the house is old and has the main breaker located outside the house. I did not replace that. Any ideas where to start? Undervoltage problem from the power company?
Posted By: Tiger Re: Apprentice Electrician Need help - 09/18/07 09:22 PM
As you've replaced the distribution panel, the next guess would be the main, or the utility transformer connections. It helps if you can get a meter on it when it happens.

Dave
Posted By: JoeTestingEngr Re: Apprentice Electrician Need help - 09/18/07 11:31 PM
Do you happen to have a couple 120VAC and 1, 240VAC cube relays lying around? You could hook the coils L1-N, L2-N, & L1-L2, via the 'a' contacts. Use #12 and wire on the load side of breakers for safety. Jumper the 'a' contact of each relay to seal it in and walk away. Indicating relays would add style points. Losing a 120VAC and the 240VAC relay means your losing a leg. Just a 120 relay dropping would clue you in to the nasty floating neutral.
Joe
Posted By: Niko Re: Apprentice Electrician Need help - 09/19/07 01:53 AM

Sinec you have flickering i would say there is a loose connection on that circuit. You need to take out all of the devices from the each box and check the connections. I bet you that one of the connections is burnt or almost there.

Loose connection.