ECN Forum
Posted By: Trumpy Aerial(antenna) Length's - 09/11/02 08:48 AM
Hello,
I am an electrician here in New Zealand,
I am also a Radio Amateur Operator (ZL4TPQ)
Could somebody tell me if there is a
formula(e), for calculating the length's
of the elements, as well as the boom spacing,for 26MHz, over here, yes I realise
that this is the CB band over here,
this could be for a 3,4 or 5 Element Yagi,
But, I am building this antenna for a
mate, George Corran, can you help?.
Posted By: Chris Rudolph Re: Aerial(antenna) Length's - 09/11/02 01:09 PM
I believe that the info you are looking for can be found in the amateur radio handbook.
I am sure that you recall that you have to match the transmission line(50 ohms to free space 377 ohms)and the relation for antenna element length,number of elements and spacing is a function of frequency and desired beamwidth/gain.Sorry I cannot provide you the info off the top of my head.
There could be a Web page that gives the design data.Good luck.
Chris
Posted By: George Corron Re: Aerial(antenna) Length's - 09/11/02 01:28 PM
Trumpy,
Sorry, we're a bit busy at the Pentagon today. There are 2 basic types of antennas (OK there are literally thousands, but 2 basic types everyone uses)

The most common is the dipole. This is a piece of wire, great antenna and with a few minor "tweeks" is what I run. The formulas are fairly simple for this one.

You design antennas in increments of wavelengths.
Full wavelength = 984/frequency in MHZ, or in your case 984/26=37.85 feet
1/2 wavelength = 468/frequency in mhz or 468/26=18,
1/4 wavelength = 234/26= 9 feet.

A Yagi antenna (looks like your typical TV type) is made up of at least 3 elements. The one in the middle is called the "Driven" element and is usually 1/2 wavelength long, in your case, as above it would be 18 feet. The driven element is the one you connect your receiver transmitter to.