ECN Forum
Posted By: arseegee Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:31 AM
I am in a "debate" with a with an inspector about a can light over a tub. I consider that to be a damp location rather than a wet location as pertains to 410.4 (a)(d). Maybe I'm missing something, is there a code requirement on a sealed vs. open trim?

[This message has been edited by arseegee (edited 08-15-2002).]
Posted By: Steve Miller Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:34 AM
Wet location...sealed lens
Posted By: Happi_Man Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:35 AM
I'm not an expert and I don't even know what part of the code to refer to but I thought it had to be a sealed (shower) trim...
Posted By: arseegee Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:37 AM
Code reference?
Thanks
Posted By: Steve Miller Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:47 AM
An open trim can get water splashed in. Here's the section that comes to mind immediately (99 code). Wet/damp won't matter here. Needs sealed lens either way.

410-4. Fixtures in Specific Locations
(a) Wet and Damp Locations. Fixtures installed in wet or damp locations shall be installed so that water cannot enter or accumulate in wiring compartments, lampholders, or other electrical parts. All fixtures installed in wet locations shall be marked, “Suitable for Wet Locations.” All fixtures installed in damp locations shall be marked, “Suitable for Wet Locations” or “Suitable for Damp Locations.”
Posted By: arseegee Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 01:55 AM
Thanks Steve, to play devils advocate:
The fixture is listed for damp. Same as used in an open air porch or soffit(aka damp location).
Water splashed from a bathroom sink could enter a vanity light. Is that a wet location?
Posted By: Electric Eagle Re: Recessed Can Over Tub - 08/16/02 12:59 PM