ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do You Wrap Your Receptacles?
by gfretwell - 02/20/24 10:48 PM
Cable Chase Code Requirement
by renosteinke - 02/16/24 07:00 PM
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 02/16/24 10:37 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by gfretwell - 02/08/24 07:28 AM
Is this really a thing
by renosteinke - 02/07/24 01:15 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 27 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Member
With any splices in this fitting, assume 14 AWG's, we would need a box with at least 10 cubic inches [5 x 2 CU IN].

Does this fitting show marking with that information?

I posted this because this transition seems to require only wiring methods that include an EGC, such as MC and NM.
http://www.nachi.org/bbsystem/usrimages/v/verystrange.jpg

What do you say?


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,917
Likes: 29
G
Member
There is also a fitting for AC cable (wiremold 5790B) but the instructions seem to imply that you use a "short section of raceway to the fitting" (from a box where the splice would be made?). I agree it is hard to find anything firm about how these are installed in the PDFs I have looked at.
I'm sure a careful installer could stuff 2 wirenuts in this "mouse" but I agree it is a violation of the box fill rule.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,441
Likes: 2
Cat Servant
Member
I believe it is improper to apply the box fill rule here....assuming the component is part of a listed system. As such, a determination was made that there was adequate space.
A similar situation occurs with every bath fan...the wiring space is a lot less than your usual box.

I actually think that these things are treated a 'appliances,' as their application is so narrow.

FWIW, I think you'll find the elbows in these systems are also somewhat tighter than we are allowed to make. And I defy anyone to pull wire through a 'completed raceway' of this stuff....you have to piece it together as you go.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
Member
Don't know where that illustration came from. Obviously it's wrong.

You would not make a splice in that transition nor would you bond the ground as shown. The conductors should continue through to the first box.

This is no different than a transition fitting to EMT from AC, MC or NM.

-Hal

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
Check out this cut-sheet:
http://www.wiremold.com/shared_content/pdf/ed1025.pdf

You have to buy all the fittings to connect the wires and the ground. Only then is it a UL assembly.


Earl
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 44
Member
110.3 (B) Installation and use.
Listed or labeled equipment shall be installed and used in accordance with Any Instructions included in the Listing Or Labeling.

If Wiremold Instructions or Pic's tell you to do it that way then go ahead.


It's Not The Fall That Kills You...
It's That Sudden Stop At The End

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5