ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
AreMetal Ladders Ever OK For Electrical Work?
by HotLine1. 01/22/18 07:31 PM
Photocell
by twh. 01/22/18 05:06 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by sparky. 01/20/18 05:09 PM
MRI LED lights dimmer control replacement - wow!
by Potseal. 01/19/18 08:52 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99082
07/13/06 07:07 PM
07/13/06 07:07 PM
E
e57  Offline OP
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
When I'm feeling thrifty.... I often hit say a master, guest, and powder room with one circuit for just the recepticals. Lighting on an adjoining room if loads allow. Anything wrong with that?

Quote
210.11(C)(3) Bathroom Branch Circuits.
In addition to the number of branch circuits required by other parts of this section, at least one 20-ampere branch circuit shall be provided to supply the bathroom receptacle outlet(s). Such circuits shall have no other outlets.
Exception: Where the 20-ampere circuit supplies a single bathroom, outlets for other equipment within the same bathroom shall be permitted to be supplied in accordance with 210.23(A).
FPN:See Examples D1(A), D1(B), D2(B), and D4(A) in Annex D.


Or have I read this wrong?


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99083
07/13/06 08:29 PM
07/13/06 08:29 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,167
Estero,Fl,usa
Bill Gates could have all 27 bathrooms in his house on one GFCI 20 if he was only serving the receptacles.
That is a design issue.


Greg Fretwell
Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99084
07/13/06 08:59 PM
07/13/06 08:59 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
I see nothing wrong codewise. It is the bare minimum required by the code. However, a line-load design with GFCI device in the basement, and the master bathroom on 2nd floor, is a poor, poor design.

Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99085
07/14/06 06:39 AM
07/14/06 06:39 AM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,919
Brick, NJ USA
Ron:
IF you are saying a GFI receptacle in the basement, then up to the baths, that buys a red sticker. If you are saying a faceless GFI in basement then I say "BAD design", but compliant.

John


John
Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99086
07/14/06 09:56 AM
07/14/06 09:56 AM
T
trobb  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Iowa City, IA
I know that where I come from (Cedar Rapids, Iowa) you cannot have wiring from the basement (etc) additionally serving another floor, stairs exempt. It is a mod the city added to the NEC.
(Sidenote: A nice thing they also added is that panels in a residence cannot be closer than 6" to a corner. Makes for easier access)
Edited for better wording.

[This message has been edited by trobb (edited 07-14-2006).]

Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99087
07/14/06 10:18 AM
07/14/06 10:18 AM
X
XtheEdgeX  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 116
Florida
As the code section you referenced states,
You are not allowed to add receptacles from other rooms onto the circuit that feeds the bathroom receptacles.

Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99088
07/14/06 12:21 PM
07/14/06 12:21 PM
T
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Heres the right way to do it. [Linked Image]

HR for bath plugs goes in the master bedroom. You can jump out of that the feed another bathrooms plugs.

Depending on if there is alot of plugs in the master, multiple bathrooms, etc. We will pull another circuit for other bathrooms. Hair dryers are pulling alot of amps these days.

The 20amp circuit is only for bath plugs. Lighting is pulled from any general circuit.

So E, your right. Bigger houses you might wanna ppull 2 , 20 amp circuits for plugs.

[This message has been edited by Trick440 (edited 07-14-2006).]


Shake n Bake
Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99089
07/14/06 05:58 PM
07/14/06 05:58 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I am quite familiar with the practice of having all bath receptacles, in all baths, on one circuit, protected by a GFI receptacle in the first bath the cirrcuit reaches. "Economy" is always cited as a reason for this.

I question that reasoning.

Sure, it makes sense in tract homes of the "1970's" style. In those homes, the design usually had all the plumbing grouped together, so baths were either back-to-back or directly above one another.

Yet, I have just come from a new home in the "Courtyard" style. This style has the rooms arranged in a box, around an inner courtyard. There were five baths, including eight receptacles , scatttered around this square, and on two levels. One GFI receptacle protected them all.

That is a lot of wire to loop around, up, and down. Apart from the wire cost, there is the labor involved. Compare that to using a multi-wire branch circuit, with one leg for the neighboring room, and one for the bath- and each bath having its' own GFI.

Since, in realtive terms, the cost of GFI's has dropped- I think saving $$$$ by eliminating $10 devices is often false savings!

(This can also be another reason in favor of AFCI devices!)

Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99090
07/14/06 06:26 PM
07/14/06 06:26 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,919
Brick, NJ USA
Although NEC compliant, and INHO poor design practice one 20 amp circuit for ALL baths is a PITA. Not the GFI tripping, but the 20 amp CB tripping from more than one blow dryer on.

It's a pain in the butt as AHJ, GFI in first floor powder room & 3 or 4 baths upstairs.

But, alas, it's compliant!!

John


John
Re: How many bathrooms on one circuit? #99091
07/14/06 09:13 PM
07/14/06 09:13 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Actually, John - and I should have clarified - what I meant was that the GFCI device would be in a downstairs (maybe basement level) bathroom with no other loads feeding receptacles in other bathrooms. I despise doing it like that but my boss demands it because of $$$. At the very least, elimanate the line-load design and install devices in each bathroom to avoid the nuisance of going down flights of stairs in order to reset the GFCI.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
sparky 15
Potseal 15
Popular Topics(Views)
243,599 Are you busy
180,406 Re: Forum
170,869 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.031s Queries: 15 (0.008s) Memory: 1.0266 MB (Peak: 1.2016 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-23 13:55:46 UTC