ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/21/21 02:03 AM
Need some info on Japanese outlets, 200V 15A
by andey - 10/20/21 08:05 AM
Wire sizing
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:27 AM
nec 110.3 (B)
by watersparkfalls - 10/19/21 07:09 AM
A 5-20(20a) receptacle is legal on a 15a circuit?
by libellis - 10/10/21 12:46 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 13 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#98678 02/17/05 08:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 613
S
Member
Does 250.140 exception(2005 NEC) allow the extension of a exsisting type SE service-entrance cable feeding a range to a new location in a kitchen remodel in a dwelling by installing a juction box, which is grounded with the SE, extending the supply circuit(with SE) to the new location of the range, and grounding of the range with the SE cables grounded circuit conductor as it was originally installed?

shortcircuit

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#98679 02/18/05 01:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,667
Likes: 6
G
Member
I don't see that directly addressed but it does sound reasonable that if you can use an existing 3 wire circuit you can extend it.
I think that if replacement is practical it should be done but I also understand that can be an unreasonable burden in old work.


Greg Fretwell
#98680 02/19/05 07:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Shortcircuit IMO extending that circuit is not allowed by Rule 3 of our (MA) 527 CMR 12:00: 2005 MEC.

Quote
Rule 3. Additions or modifications to an existing installation shall be made in accordance with this Code without bringing the remaining part of the installation into compliance with the requirements of this Code. The installation shall not create a violation of this Code, nor shall it increase the magnitude of an existing violation.

I do not know anyway you can add to this circuit and meet the new code.

As an example can you add a grounding receptacle to a K&T system?

Also IMO the NEC will not allow what you are asking about, the new location for the range is just that a new location / installation.

IMO existing as used by NEC 250.140 exception means where it is now, not where you want to move it.

Bob


[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 02-19-2005).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#98681 02/19/05 09:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
The only way I have done this is if the wire reaches to the new location of the range which is usually a few feet to the left or right. If it does not I run a new circuit.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Theelectrikid
Theelectrikid
Levittown, PA
Posts: 811
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 6
Popular Topics(Views)
284,721 Are you busy
217,347 Re: Forum
203,700 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5