ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:11 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:52 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 17 guests, and 21 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grounding of ranges #98678 02/17/05 07:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 613
S
shortcircuit Offline OP
Member
Does 250.140 exception(2005 NEC) allow the extension of a exsisting type SE service-entrance cable feeding a range to a new location in a kitchen remodel in a dwelling by installing a juction box, which is grounded with the SE, extending the supply circuit(with SE) to the new location of the range, and grounding of the range with the SE cables grounded circuit conductor as it was originally installed?

shortcircuit

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Grounding of ranges #98679 02/18/05 12:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,541
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
I don't see that directly addressed but it does sound reasonable that if you can use an existing 3 wire circuit you can extend it.
I think that if replacement is practical it should be done but I also understand that can be an unreasonable burden in old work.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Grounding of ranges #98680 02/19/05 06:53 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Shortcircuit IMO extending that circuit is not allowed by Rule 3 of our (MA) 527 CMR 12:00: 2005 MEC.

Quote
Rule 3. Additions or modifications to an existing installation shall be made in accordance with this Code without bringing the remaining part of the installation into compliance with the requirements of this Code. The installation shall not create a violation of this Code, nor shall it increase the magnitude of an existing violation.

I do not know anyway you can add to this circuit and meet the new code.

As an example can you add a grounding receptacle to a K&T system?

Also IMO the NEC will not allow what you are asking about, the new location for the range is just that a new location / installation.

IMO existing as used by NEC 250.140 exception means where it is now, not where you want to move it.

Bob


[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 02-19-2005).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Grounding of ranges #98681 02/19/05 08:15 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
The only way I have done this is if the wire reaches to the new location of the range which is usually a few feet to the left or right. If it does not I run a new circuit.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
TOOL_5150
TOOL_5150
Bay Area
Posts: 61
Joined: August 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,965 Are you busy
205,853 Re: Forum
193,929 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3