ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97692
03/14/06 08:51 PM
03/14/06 08:51 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Just wondering if theres an easier way.

I have a 400amp (300 maybe?) meter can with dual lugs to feed 2 200 amp main breaker panels.

So for the ground I come from each panel and run #6 to the ground rods. Thats fairly standard.

Now for the water main bond (or is it SEC?) I have ussually been running #4 from each panel to the water main.

Is there an easier way to do this? Can I just pull #4 from 1 panel to the water main, then pull a #4 jumper from that panel to the other?


Shake n Bake
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97693
03/15/06 09:19 AM
03/15/06 09:19 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 845
Michigan
400 amp service requires 500 mcm =380 amps at 75%. go to 250.66 a 500 requires a 1/0 copper grounding electrode conductor.
you can run a 1/0 to the ist panel then (TAP)a #4 from (OUTSIDE) the panel to the second panel.You cannot Splice (unless Cadweld or Listed compression ) and going in one panel to the Neutral bar then to the other would be like a splice , But you can Tap.(250.64d)Page 214 of the NEC 2005 Handbook shows a nice detail of this.Since a #6 copper) per 250.66(A) is the largest size wire required to a Ground rod no matter what the size service. I feel you could run one #6 from the Ground Rod or Rods to the Water line (Detail on page 215 NEC Code Handbook) and you;d be done.All of theses are also shown well in Soares Grounding book.

Re: Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97694
03/15/06 03:59 PM
03/15/06 03:59 PM
M
markp  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Kent, WA, USA
As long as the neutrals between the panels and the meter are 1/0 copper or 3/0 aluminum or larger, you don't need to run a ground tap between panels (but you can if you want to).

Just run a 1/0 copper (or maybe a #2 copper -- depends on the size of service entrance conductors actually used) from one panel to the water pipe. Ideally, from that same panel, run a #6 copper to your first ground rod and then a #6 bonding jumper from that rod to the next.

[This message has been edited by markp (edited 03-15-2006).]


Mark
Kent, WA
Re: Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97695
03/15/06 06:02 PM
03/15/06 06:02 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Ok let me get this straight...

I only need to run 1 #6 ground wire, from 1 panel, to the ground rod. So I don't have to do that on both panels?

I think I understand about the 1/0 needs to come from only 1 panel, and hit the water pipe. We have been doing the 2 runs of #4 copper forever. <--- is the 2 runs wrong?

thanks for the help.


Shake n Bake
Re: Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97696
03/17/06 12:10 AM
03/17/06 12:10 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Trick440, what you are doing, is kinda allowed depending on how you look at it... This has been argued here before, contensiously.....

It is allowed by 250.64D depending on how you look at it... The way I see it there should only be one conductor, and full sized on the electrode, unless both are exothermically welded to it. As it says the conductor shoud be "without a splice". Otherwise one could be removed, and you would have a single 1/2 sized conductor serving as the GEC. 2 connections at the rod or water serve as a splice in what should be a single full sized conductor IMO. It says conductor, singlular....


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Grounding/bonding 2 panels, 1 meter #97697
03/17/06 04:50 PM
03/17/06 04:50 PM
M
markp  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 60
Kent, WA, USA
I think not having all those smaller parallel grounds makes more sense when you realize you could connect your ground electrode in the meter can (if the POCO permits that) or anyplace along the service neutral (at the weatherhead even). NEC 250.142 allows the service neutral to be the wire you ground all your service equipment with as long as the neutral is sized per 250.66 or larger.

Having ground taps clouds the issue for me, but you would need to do that if you have a panel with no neutral.


Mark
Kent, WA

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,578 Are you busy
186,311 Re: Forum
175,771 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.031s Queries: 14 (0.017s) Memory: 0.9776 MB (Peak: 1.1251 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-17 21:04:00 UTC