ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/25/18 06:06 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 22 guests, and 30 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Ground wire to rods #97217
02/02/06 09:45 PM
02/02/06 09:45 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Does the ground wire to the 2 ground rods have to be continuous without breaks? Or can I have it go to the first ground rod secured with an acorn, then install another acorn to jump to the other rod?

So the ground wire is 2 pieces but attached with the acorns.


Shake n Bake
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Ground wire to rods #97218
02/02/06 10:24 PM
02/02/06 10:24 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
No, it does not need to be an uninterrupetd run from the panel to both ground rods...only to the first one. This is the "GEC"
The wire between the two rods is considered a supplimental GEC.

Re: Ground wire to rods #97219
02/02/06 11:00 PM
02/02/06 11:00 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
thank you


Shake n Bake
Re: Ground wire to rods #97220
02/03/06 06:15 PM
02/03/06 06:15 PM
E
eprice  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
North Logan, Utah, USA
I agree that the GEC ends at the first ground rod and does not need to continue unspliced from that point. However, conductors between ground rods or other electrodes in the grounding electrode system are more acurately called bonding jumpers. See 250.53(C)

Re: Ground wire to rods #97221
02/03/06 09:33 PM
02/03/06 09:33 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Thanks, eprice....feel free to correct me!

Re: Ground wire to rods #97222
02/07/06 11:48 AM
02/07/06 11:48 AM
E
eprice  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
North Logan, Utah, USA
Well, alright, I will, but its just that I so seldom find anything to disagree with in what you say [Linked Image]

Re: Ground wire to rods #97223
02/08/06 06:09 PM
02/08/06 06:09 PM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
You may also want to check with your power company, ours insists that it be one wire, continuous.


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: Ground wire to rods #97224
02/16/06 07:32 PM
02/16/06 07:32 PM
L
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Tom,

Could you please send me a copy of that requirement for the continous run, is that Allegheny Power?

Thank you,

Les

[This message has been edited by LK (edited 02-16-2006).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
cookcc
cookcc
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
BigB 4
Popular Topics(Views)
249,467 Are you busy
187,385 Re: Forum
176,726 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.027s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9928 MB (Peak: 1.1498 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-26 03:28:45 UTC