ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by HotLine1. 08/23/17 07:30 PM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,151 Are you busy
175,791 Re: Forum
167,959 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 52 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#97217 - 02/02/06 09:45 PM Ground wire to rods  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Does the ground wire to the 2 ground rods have to be continuous without breaks? Or can I have it go to the first ground rod secured with an acorn, then install another acorn to jump to the other rod?

So the ground wire is 2 pieces but attached with the acorns.


Shake n Bake

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#97218 - 02/02/06 10:24 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
No, it does not need to be an uninterrupetd run from the panel to both ground rods...only to the first one. This is the "GEC"
The wire between the two rods is considered a supplimental GEC.


#97219 - 02/02/06 11:00 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
Trick440  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
thank you


Shake n Bake

#97220 - 02/03/06 06:15 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
eprice  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
North Logan, Utah, USA
I agree that the GEC ends at the first ground rod and does not need to continue unspliced from that point. However, conductors between ground rods or other electrodes in the grounding electrode system are more acurately called bonding jumpers. See 250.53(C)


#97221 - 02/03/06 09:33 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Thanks, eprice....feel free to correct me!


#97222 - 02/07/06 11:48 AM Re: Ground wire to rods  
eprice  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 64
North Logan, Utah, USA
Well, alright, I will, but its just that I so seldom find anything to disagree with in what you say [Linked Image]


#97223 - 02/08/06 06:09 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
You may also want to check with your power company, ours insists that it be one wire, continuous.


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.

#97224 - 02/16/06 07:32 PM Re: Ground wire to rods  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
Tom,

Could you please send me a copy of that requirement for the continous run, is that Allegheny Power?

Thank you,

Les

[This message has been edited by LK (edited 02-16-2006).]



Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7923 MB (Peak: 0.9552 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-24 00:54:07 UTC