ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/19/17 01:02 AM
Generator Cable Sizing
by brsele. 10/18/17 07:39 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,402 Are you busy
177,369 Re: Forum
168,970 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 51 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#96771 - 12/24/05 02:44 PM Welding Cable  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Has anyone on this forum ever installed or been asked to install the secondary conductors of a welder in conduit? What was your response?


George Little

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#96772 - 12/24/05 02:51 PM Re: Welding Cable  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Nope

My response would be along the lines of uses not permitted unless the leads said RHW or some other 310.13 insulation.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96773 - 12/24/05 03:02 PM Re: Welding Cable  
sierra electrician  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 219
North Fork, CA USA
First off, No never been asked that.
But as a response,
First thought is...Why?. Kinda ruins the portability of the leads.
Then, what type of conduit are we talking about?
Then, If that is what you want...your the customer.
Conduit, Wire Size & Wire Type would all be factors to do the installation correctly.

Rob


#96774 - 12/24/05 03:19 PM Re: Welding Cable  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
When I was wearing the tools, I was asked to run the "hot" lead to several places in the building that was aboyt 20k square feet and then the welder was left in one spot (in the shop) and the person doing the welding only had about a 25' stinger lead that would be plugged in to various outlets via a cam lock type connector. The Ground was usually established via the piping or conveyers throughout the building.

The other installation where I was involved as the Inspector not an installer, had to do with a coupla sports events ( the US PGA Open and the Rider Cup) where the welder cable was used for feeders and branch circuits. This was however not in a raceway and this seems to be standard fare for this type of event. I'm not sure this is kosher but it sure worked well and was practical.

Any information on the use of welder cable for other than secondary conductors for a welder would be appreciated.


George Little

#96775 - 12/24/05 03:19 PM Re: Welding Cable  
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Bob,
As long as the welding cables are being used for welding, I see no reason why they can't be in conduit.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

#96776 - 12/24/05 03:22 PM Re: Welding Cable  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Don how are you figuring that?

Welder output or not it is still a flexible cord.

George

I would not run one lead I would run both to the point of use.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96777 - 12/24/05 03:26 PM Re: Welding Cable  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
George some welding cable carries the RHW insulation marking making it suitable for raceways.

I am not sure it is suitable for portable power cable unless marked as such.

All the temp generators we hook up we use what looks like welding cable but is labeled as portable power cable. The conductors must be run in close proximity to each other.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96778 - 12/24/05 03:45 PM Re: Welding Cable  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
Bob- I wonder why you'd want to run both conductors to the point of use?

Edited for added thought- Does anyone have a source for information on the ampacity of welder cable? Nothing in the NEC to my knowledge.

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-24-2005).]


George Little

#96779 - 12/24/05 04:01 PM Re: Welding Cable  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Quote
Bob- I wonder why you'd want to run both conductors to the point of use?


Well doing it the way you described above seems like you could have a mighty hot conduit (assuming it is ferris) containing that one lead.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96780 - 12/24/05 10:56 PM Re: Welding Cable  
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Bob,
Quote
Don how are you figuring that?

Because Article 630 doesn't say I can't. Note, I am assuming that we are not talking about the power supply conductors to the welder, but the secondary conductors from the welding machine.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.037s Queries: 15 (0.013s) Memory: 0.8189 MB (Peak: 0.9944 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-20 03:16:24 UTC