ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 3
Recent Posts
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
Bathroom electrical
by gfretwell. 08/14/17 02:05 AM
"Line level" audio on Cat 5?
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:39 PM
Fire alarm phone lines and color coding
by gfretwell. 08/08/17 10:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
Popular Topics(Views)
239,919 Are you busy
175,496 Re: Forum
167,771 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 65 guests, and 15 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#96527 - 12/05/05 05:08 PM 801a. Fuse  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
What good is an 601a. fuse?

Meant to 601a in the Subject line :0

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-05-2005).]


George Little

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#96528 - 12/05/05 05:10 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
A question I have asked myself more than once.

I hope an answer is presented.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96529 - 12/05/05 05:31 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
The only other reference I see is in 430.52ex2(d) and the necessity of 601a doesn't really make sense.


Greg Fretwell

#96530 - 12/05/05 06:45 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,103
Estero,Fl,usa
Are they really saying I could use a 601a time delay Type L fuse at up to 300% of FLA vs 175% for 600a or less? (when the rest of 430.52 Ex1 & Ex2 is met)

I don't know and I have never seen a 125 HP motor


Greg Fretwell

#96531 - 12/05/05 08:24 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
AFAIK, the 601A fuse is used when you want to fuse an 800A disconnect at 600A.

Essentially, a 600A fuse in the 800A package.


#96532 - 12/06/05 03:55 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
George Little  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,489
Michigan USA
We have an IAEI Seminar 12/8 & 9 and the Bussman rep is scheduled to be there. I'll bounce it off him and bring back the info.


George Little

#96533 - 12/06/05 04:22 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
Ryan_J  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
West Jordan, Utah, USA
I have been told that the after 600 amps, the physical size of fuses changes. If you have equipment that willonly accept fuses greater tahn 600 amps, but you want 600 amp protection, you use a 601 amp fuse.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City

#96534 - 12/06/05 04:49 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
Ryan that makes sense but why do we not have 101, 201, 401, 801 amp fuses as well for the same reason?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts

#96535 - 12/07/05 08:08 PM Re: 801a. Fuse  
earlydean  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
Griswold, CT, USA
because they make adapters for the smaller sizes?


Earl

#96536 - 12/08/05 10:10 AM Re: 801a. Fuse  
Ryan_J  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
West Jordan, Utah, USA
???


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,260
Joined: December 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.8157 MB (Peak: 0.9905 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-19 01:45:44 UTC