ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (CoolWill), 250 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#9619 05/07/02 12:19 PM
H
Hazmat Offline OP
OK, I'm not an electrician, so before you smack me around (verbally) for being here, let me say, I've learned to be at least coherent in electrical discussions from you guys and mainly come to check out the safety stuff, and recalls. That being said, here's the issue:

Over the last few days, we've noticed a flickering of some of the lights in our home. We (last summer) raised the house and built a new basement, and the breaker panel is still hanging by the 2" conduit, with no connection to the wall. I know, that's not great, but until I get the basement finished this summer, it will have to do.

Regardless, my thoughts were that the main lugs had worked loose (aluminum). I shut of the power at the pole with the main disconnect (rural home) and attempted to tighten up the lugs. What the heck size are these allen screws? 3/8" is too big, 5/16" too small, and no one manufacturers a 9mm allen wrench, which is, I believe, the actual size. Specialized tool (torque wrench) or what?

By the way, I already untaped the acorn nuts at the mast and they were still clean well-lubed but I cranked them down and retaped them anyway.