ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 4
Recent Posts
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by gfretwell. 12/13/17 09:49 PM
2017 NEC Changes
by sparky. 12/13/17 06:57 PM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,039 Are you busy
179,470 Re: Forum
170,398 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 19 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#95875 - 10/16/05 10:36 AM Disconnect Mounting  
wire dummy  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Ohio
I need to mount a 100a switch over an existing single gang box in a wall.The conduit is 1.25 coming into the box.I have never mounted one over a box before.I thought I could just nipple it and be done. Any code issues or helpful hints would be appreciated.


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#95876 - 10/16/05 11:21 AM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
Larry Fine  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 693
Richmond, VA
I'd need a lot more info to respond to this, and a pic wouldn't hurt.

Is this an abandoned box, or are any wires in the box to enter the disconnect? I can't imagine 100-amps worth of conductors fitting a single-gang box.

If I had to venture a guess now, I'd say to mount an extension box over the existing box, mount the disconnect to one side, and nipple between them.


Larry Fine
Fine Electric Co.
fineelectricco.com

#95877 - 10/16/05 11:40 AM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
wire dummy  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Ohio
Sorry,I see how I needed to be more clearer.There is an empty 1.25 coming into a 4 11/16 box with a single gang plaster ring on it.I need a 70 amp circuit there with a disconnect.There is sheetrock over the box.Thanks in advance.


#95878 - 10/16/05 12:38 PM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
dmattox  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 265
Anaheim, CA
Access to the box in the wall is an issue. I wouldnt consider needing to remove a disconnect to access a box as accessible. Larry's suggestion is how I do it. An extension box then go to the disconnect.


#95879 - 10/17/05 05:32 PM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
wire dummy  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Ohio
I see your point.But,could I mount it over the plaster ring? Is this a code requirement?The wires would pass thru the box to the disconnect.I am more concerned with the code issue more than the convienance of mounting it.Thanks again.


#95880 - 10/17/05 08:25 PM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
earlydean  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
Griswold, CT, USA
No, I don't think that you could not mount the disconnect over the box and remain code compliant. You would need to maintain accessibility to the box beneath without removing the disconnect. I don't think there would be room enough in the disconnect to cut a 2-1/4 by 4 inch hole to get that access, nor would the listing allow you to modify the box that much. Is it possible to open the wall enough to remove the box, attach an offset bend, and enter the disconnect directly?


Earl

#95881 - 10/18/05 08:12 PM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
mxslick  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 803
Atomic City, ID USA
Maybe I've been missing something in this discussion, but IF there are no splices or connections of any kind in the box (i.e., the wire simply passes through the box on its way to a bushing on the rear of the disconnect), I don't see any problem at all.

Even if new conductors needed to be pulled through at a later time, I would think the box itself would allow enough bend radii to get 'em in.

Thoughts?


Stupid should be painful.

#95882 - 10/19/05 06:35 AM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
dmattox  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 265
Anaheim, CA
The code doesnt make an exception for a junction box that has splices or not. All junction boxes must be accessable.

Even so, What about your ground wire bonding both boxes, theres a splice for you.


#95883 - 10/19/05 10:35 AM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,142
Estero,Fl,usa
Is the disconnect part of "the building finish"?

Quote
Accessible (as applied to wiring methods). Capable of being removed or exposed without damaging the building structure or finish or not permanently closed in by the structure or finish of the building.


Greg Fretwell

#95884 - 10/19/05 03:00 PM Re: Disconnect Mounting  
wire dummy  Offline
Junior Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Ohio
Yeah,that is kinda my question/quandry.Is the disco considered the building?I also wouldn't splice the ground,just wrap the wire around the grd screw then go to disco(still a termination?).I am not looking to get around the code,just looking for some insight into the code issues.I have done similar installs on A/C units,but they are accessible.Thanks for the replies.


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.002s) Memory: 0.8180 MB (Peak: 0.9933 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-14 13:09:30 UTC