ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Lowes Selling this fan
by timmp - 07/25/21 10:58 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by donles - 07/23/21 10:51 AM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
New in the Gallery:
February, North East Indiana
February, North East Indiana
by timmp, July 25
Red Green would be proud
Red Green would be proud
by timmp, July 25
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 20 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#94824 08/15/05 04:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
D
Member
When running a GEC from either a SDS or a panel, the GEC must be protected from damage, is this correct?

Have found alot that are either tywrapped up, or even leave the MDP via a romex connector and go through a sheetrocked wall and then over to building steel.
Most of it exposed..

I remmember seing somewhere on one of these threads a connector that was used on EMT that housed the GEC. This connector bonded the EMT,or Rigid at the top where the GEC left the pipe.

Does this type connector have a trade name?

Any help here?

And another question, do most of you bond the SDS in the transformer or at the service panel?

Which is best and why?


Dnk.......

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#94825 08/15/05 04:52 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Dnk, Click here for the thread on "City Hubs"

Check out 250.64, the GEC doesn't necessarily need protection.

Roger

#94826 08/15/05 06:25 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
D
Member
Thanks for the link Roger.

I couldn't find where it stated they need protection, but remmembered that thread, and always wondered why you put them in pipe, with this "city hub".

Any explanation?
Is it just for asetics?(spelling)


Dnk........

#94827 08/15/05 06:47 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
250.64(E) requires the GEC to be bonded to any metal enclosure it passes through.

Without bonding the GEC, the current flow during a fault will be reduced, actually impeded.

Others may be able to explain it correctly.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#94828 08/15/05 07:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
D
Member
Bob, I understood the bonding of the pipe, the arcing that would develope from the GEC to the pipe during a fault condition.

I even understand the reasoning of bonding both ends of the pipe to the GEC and the enclosure,
But why in that thread, if the GEC doesn't have to be in pipe, do you put it in there?


Dnk.....

#94829 08/15/05 08:39 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Dnk, the reason we would do it if it's not needed for protection would be the engineering specifications require it.

Roger

#94830 08/15/05 08:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
D
Member
Roger, how would putting it in pipe help with spec's. Does it decrease overall impedance of the length of wire when done in pipe and properly bonded, or is this just something you normally see in hospitals and sensitive electronics labs.

I've never seen it done in my day like that in all the machine shops and commercial buildings I've seen.

But if it helps in overall performance, it is something I'd like to rethink and do.

Any more info you have on this application is appreciated.


Dnk.....

#94831 08/15/05 09:11 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Dnk, specs are not always for performance, alot of the times I see this in specs, it is basically for neatness or asthetics.

Now as far as performance is concerned, let's take the "Choke Effect" out of the conversation, and think parallel conductor.

When the metallic raceway and GEC are bonded together at both ends they become a parallel conductor reducing the resistance and impedance of the path, so with this in mind, it would make sense to bond the raceway and conductor regardless of any other considerations.

Roger

#94832 08/15/05 09:36 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
I always thought they were called "City clamps" (AKA ground hub) because for the longest time they were only required in the city I live in, I guess other cities want them too....

Is there a "country/rural/suburban clamp"?



[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 08-15-2005).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#94833 08/15/05 09:43 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,653
Likes: 2
G
Member
DNK, what you are asking is answered "4 ga or larger does not *normally* require physical protection".
250.64(B) ...A 4 AWG copper or aluminum or larger conductor shall be protected if exposed to severe physical damage.

What is "severe"? Ask your AJH what it is that day.


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
AllClear
AllClear
Belmond Iowa US
Posts: 44
Joined: August 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 7
Rachel 4
Popular Topics(Views)
281,451 Are you busy
215,094 Re: Forum
201,958 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5