ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
High current GFI vs regular GFCI
by HotLine1. 11/16/18 01:03 PM
This anti-theist is priceless!!!
by djk. 11/14/18 07:19 AM
Single phase and what you call it.
by dsk. 11/12/18 11:10 AM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by Albert. 11/07/18 12:48 AM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 29 guests, and 24 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94671
08/04/05 09:26 PM
08/04/05 09:26 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Is there anything in the code that would prohibit using a 200 amp panel with a 200 amp main breaker as a sub panel that is fed by a 90 amp breaker. The reason I would consider using the 200 amp, is to get the amount of circuits that I need in replacing old fuse panels with one breaker panel. The wire size feeding the old fuse panels is probably #2 as far as I can tell at this point ( wasn't able to identify it completely ) but it is fed from a 90 amp breaker. In the event that the load does get up to 90 amps or so, the outside breaker would trip, so the 200 amp is just really used as a means of disconnect for the sub panel, which I know is not really necessary since there is a main outside, but just for convenience purposes, I am thinking on putting one if I can. House belongs a 86 year old man and the panel will be in the basement. My other option would be to run 125 amp wire maybe and put 125 amp panel that might have barely enough room for the circuits. I don't know if I can get a bigger than 125 amp breaker to fit in the 200 amp panel outside or not. Any input would be appreciated. Normally I wouldn't do it like I mentioned above, but I need more circuits than a 100 amp panel can give me.. Thanks .. Steve

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94672
08/04/05 11:05 PM
08/04/05 11:05 PM
T
Tiger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
I don't know of any violation in that setup. I've heard of inspectors that won't approve it, so check with the AHJ.

Would a Square D QO, 100-amp, 32 circuit panel work for you?

Dave

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94673
08/05/05 06:25 AM
08/05/05 06:25 AM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Dave, that would work great, if I could find one. I haven't ever seen one with that many circuits around here. Thanks Steve

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94674
08/05/05 07:05 AM
08/05/05 07:05 AM
T
Tiger  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 706
Crystal Lake, IL USA
I've used them ever since they came out, Steve, which was about two years ago. All the wholesalers here carry them, as well as Home Depot and Menards. I think I'm in the only municipality in the area that still allows a 100-amp residential service.

Dave

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94675
08/05/05 07:25 AM
08/05/05 07:25 AM
B
BobH  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 135
Newfane, N.Y USA
Tiger, may I ask why some inspectors will not allow this? It seems to be within code and is not a safety concern. Just curious. Would they allow it if a load calc. was performed? Thanks.

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94676
08/05/05 04:19 PM
08/05/05 04:19 PM
N
nov  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 69
New Jersey
cuttler hammer also has a 30 space 100 amp main breaker panel in there CH line. I think it is a good panel if you cant get the QO also slighty cheaper a my supply house anyway

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94677
08/05/05 07:26 PM
08/05/05 07:26 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
Steve:
How about a 40 or 42 circuit 225 amp main lug only panel??

You have existing main outside, so a MLO panel is acceptable, unless you want to use the 'main' as a disco.

There is no NEC problems with what you propose.

Also, you should be able to get the CH panel as MLO also.

John


John
Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94678
08/05/05 07:33 PM
08/05/05 07:33 PM
S
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
I think article 110.3 applies here.

110.3 Examination, Identification, Installation, and Use of Equipment
(A) Examination
(7) Classification by type, size, voltage, current capacity, and specific use

If the main breaker panel you want to use has 200 amp MB rating, and you are feeding it with a 90 amp breaker, then in my opinion this clearly violates current capacity in 110.3(A)(7)

Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94679
08/05/05 08:11 PM
08/05/05 08:11 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,039
Brick, NJ USA
Shockme:

Sounds like you mean having a 90 amp rated panel (if there is/was) on a 200 amp OCP.

MLO panels are commonly used around here for circuit capacity (number of branch OCP devices) 225 amp MLO 40 or 42 circuit panels, with 100 or 125 amp feeds are common.

John


John
Re: 200 amp panel downstream of 90 amp breaker #94680
08/05/05 09:27 PM
08/05/05 09:27 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
Thanks guys for the input. I found out today at one of the supply houses, that they can order me a Seimans 100 amp 30 circuit from about an hours drive from where I live. This will probably be the route I take, if the homeowner want it done. Lowes or Home Depot in my area don't carry anything over a 20 circuit 100 amp panel, and even the supply houses don't. I wished they did though. This is not the first time I've needed more spaces for a "panel change out".. Thanks again .. Steve

On second thought after reading Curt's post, I might use a 200 amp 30/42 circuit main lug panel just in case in the future the main breaker and feeder needs to be changed, the panel will already be there. Would save the homeowner a little if they want to expand any more.. I checked the prices and they are about the same for a 100 amp. 30 circuit main breaker, as it is for the 200 amp main lug.. Steve
[This message has been edited by sparkync (edited 08-05-2005).]

[This message has been edited by sparkync (edited 08-05-2005).]

[This message has been edited by sparkync (edited 08-05-2005).]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mxslick
mxslick
Atomic City, ID USA
Posts: 803
Joined: October 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 8
Popular Topics(Views)
251,518 Are you busy
188,690 Re: Forum
178,391 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0263 MB (Peak: 1.2018 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-11-17 01:09:28 UTC