ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/18/24 04:26 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Is this really a thing
by dsk - 07/16/24 01:23 PM
90.5(C) Explanatory Material 2023
by gfretwell - 07/16/24 12:14 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 348 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#93164 05/05/05 09:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
I looked at a house with a strange set up with the service. The service drop is overhead about 20' to the garage. On the back of the garage is the mast and meter. Inside is a 100a fused disco. Then the load side gos underground in 2" about 30' to the house load center.

I can't find anything in the NEC about this. I keep thinking I read it's not permited some where but maybe I'm thinking of a local thing some place.

They are doing an addition so a larger service will be needed. If keeping with a simular set up what would the proper way to bond and ground? I would say a G-rod at the house and garage plus cold water at the house. Bond only the disco & meter at the garage and pull a EG to the house panel. The house panel would have a insulated nutral bar.

I would proibly just use a meter socket with a built in ocp.

Right now the garage circuit is just double taped of the load side of the disco and gos to a single 20a breaker. Could I just put it on a breaker in the house and run the garage circuit with the house feeders?

Tom
Tom

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,954
Likes: 34
G
Member
What's the question? The house has a sub panel, the garage is the main building with the service disconnect. Whether you need a 3 wire or 4 wire feeder (reground the neutral etc) depends on if there are other metalic paths. You do need a ground electrode system at both buildings.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
Sorry for not being to the point.

Can the house have a sub panel with the service in a detached garage?

Tom

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,954
Likes: 34
G
Member
That is not unusual. It is an easy way to increase the service size for a garage shop when the house service was OK. The NEC is silent on which building the service disconnect needs to be in/on.


Greg Fretwell

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5