ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
New fan motor for Panasonic
by crselectric. 06/24/19 04:17 PM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 8 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Garage service feeds house #93164
05/05/05 09:13 PM
05/05/05 09:13 PM
A
Active 1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
I looked at a house with a strange set up with the service. The service drop is overhead about 20' to the garage. On the back of the garage is the mast and meter. Inside is a 100a fused disco. Then the load side gos underground in 2" about 30' to the house load center.

I can't find anything in the NEC about this. I keep thinking I read it's not permited some where but maybe I'm thinking of a local thing some place.

They are doing an addition so a larger service will be needed. If keeping with a simular set up what would the proper way to bond and ground? I would say a G-rod at the house and garage plus cold water at the house. Bond only the disco & meter at the garage and pull a EG to the house panel. The house panel would have a insulated nutral bar.

I would proibly just use a meter socket with a built in ocp.

Right now the garage circuit is just double taped of the load side of the disco and gos to a single 20a breaker. Could I just put it on a breaker in the house and run the garage circuit with the house feeders?

Tom
Tom

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Garage service feeds house #93165
05/06/05 12:34 AM
05/06/05 12:34 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,366
Estero,Fl,usa
What's the question? The house has a sub panel, the garage is the main building with the service disconnect. Whether you need a 3 wire or 4 wire feeder (reground the neutral etc) depends on if there are other metalic paths. You do need a ground electrode system at both buildings.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Garage service feeds house #93166
05/06/05 08:23 AM
05/06/05 08:23 AM
A
Active 1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
Grayslake IL, USA
Sorry for not being to the point.

Can the house have a sub panel with the service in a detached garage?

Tom

Re: Garage service feeds house #93167
05/06/05 12:25 PM
05/06/05 12:25 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,366
Estero,Fl,usa
That is not unusual. It is an easy way to increase the service size for a garage shop when the house service was OK. The NEC is silent on which building the service disconnect needs to be in/on.


Greg Fretwell

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Khombo 2
Popular Topics(Views)
255,847 Are you busy
191,824 Re: Forum
181,600 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9604 MB (Peak: 1.0908 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-25 05:48:46 UTC