ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Do you count seconds?
by gfretwell - 12/05/19 07:36 PM
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger - 12/02/19 10:52 AM
Look at this mess...
by NORCAL - 11/15/19 10:21 PM
New in the Gallery:
FPE Breaker panel in germany
What is this for?
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 157 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Receptacle for Stove #92631 03/31/05 11:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
G
George Little Offline OP
Member
Would the code require me to install a 120v receptacle in the space for a free standing 240v range?


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Receptacle for Stove #92632 03/31/05 11:59 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,414
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
Why would you think it could?
Maybe I don't understand the question


Greg Fretwell
Re: Receptacle for Stove #92633 04/01/05 06:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,498
G
George Little Offline OP
Member
We have inspectors that feel that the wall space for a free standing range should have a 120v outlet installed in case the homeowner elects to install a gas range even when he specs on the job call out an electric range.


George Little
Re: Receptacle for Stove #92634 04/01/05 09:24 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 37
J
jdadamo Offline
Member
I don't know how this applies to US code or what (can't see an issue with it), but I will tell you what they do in new houses up here where I live...

They will run 8/3 to the stove, and 10/3 to the dryer location. If you tell them straight out that you have gas appliances (either or both), then they will cap off one hot wire, pigtail the other hot and a neutral to #14s, and put in a 15 A receptical. Then, in goes a 15 A breaker at the panel.

(In the case of the dryer, this is *in addition* to the dedicated laundry circuit.)

It's easily reversable at any time because the wire size is correct. It would just require changing the receptical and installing a new breaker.

[This message has been edited by jdadamo (edited 04-01-2005).]

Re: Receptacle for Stove #92635 04/01/05 08:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
Quote
We have inspectors that feel that the wall space for a free standing range should have a 120v outlet installed in case the homeowner elects to install a gas range even when he specs on the job call out an electric range

How nice. [Linked Image]
Do they also have you install a 50 amp 240V range circuit if there is a gas stove going in? What if they ever want an electric range?
Simple answer NEC does not require this and if they are under the NEC they have no authority to make you do it. What is even worse than them requiring it is the fact that I am sure some guys do it either not knowing better or just to "keep the inspector happy".

Re: Receptacle for Stove #92636 04/01/05 08:21 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
This issue is addressed in the NPPA/ IAEI book, "Analysis of Changes 2005 NEC. Pg 46, in discussing 210.52(C), and its' accompanying artwork, helps clarify that the area behind a range does not count toward receptacle requirements.
While it does not specifically address the matter of a free-standing range, I believe that the provision applies to ALL ranges- free standing or counter mounted.

But- why not install one anyway? Ranges used to have a convenience receptacle built in ( power tapped from range circuit inside the appliance). In many kitchens, this was the only convenience receptacle! At any rate, the cook will often wish to use a mixer, etc., while at the stove.

Re: Receptacle for Stove #92637 04/01/05 08:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
R
resqcapt19 Offline
Member
renosteinke,
210.52(C) only applies to countertops. 210.52(A)(1) applies to the space behind a free standing range and requires a 125V, 15 or 20A receptacle if the space is 24" or more in width.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: Receptacle for Stove #92638 04/01/05 11:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,213
S
SteveFehr Offline
Member
Edit- nevermind, completely misread what I was replying to.

[This message has been edited by SteveFehr (edited 04-01-2005).]

Re: Receptacle for Stove #92639 04/02/05 07:53 AM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
Common sense has to prevail sometimes in our work. "Free standing range".... maybe I am not sure what that really is???? As most ranges in the areas I have seen are up against the wall. Maybe someone can explain what one really is.
How does 210.52(B)(4) fit into this mix?


Pierre Belarge
Re: Receptacle for Stove #92640 04/02/05 08:12 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
Someone is confused here? Is it me. I thought the question was do you need a 120v receptacle behind an electric range? The range is powered by a 40 or 50 amp 240v receptacle. The answer is no you do not need an addtional 120v receptacle in that space just in case they install a gas range at some time.

[This message has been edited by Electricmanscott (edited 04-02-2005).]

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Trumpy
Trumpy
SI,New Zealand
Posts: 8,263
Joined: July 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
NORCAL 1
Popular Topics(Views)
261,181 Are you busy
196,316 Re: Forum
185,584 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3