ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/18/21 11:07 AM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 7 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#92559 03/24/05 11:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
Does anyone know of a code requirement for an electrical inspector to test the smoke alarms and just how are they being tested?


George Little
2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
#92560 03/25/05 02:33 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Try this site: (Scroll down) http://www.testproducts.com/fire_smoke/


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#92561 03/25/05 09:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
I guess it depends on jurisdiction. Here in MA the fire depts are responsible for that.

#92562 03/25/05 10:59 AM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
The fire dept checks the smokes if it is comercial. Residential the electrical inspector checks them.

For testing residential ones I see them push the button and listen for the other smokes beeping. They will ask if they are all interconected and what circuit they are on. Sometimes the look for a breaker lock. Maybe they look to see if the power light is on.

Tom

#92563 03/25/05 02:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 613
S
Member
In a recent discussion with a local fire chief(Massachusetts), he said he doesn't use the "aerosol smoke test" products anymore and tests each unit with the test button on the unit.

The instructions that come with the detectors I use say to test by pushing the test button. They further state that if an aerosol test product is used, be certain to use one that has been Listed to Underwriters Labortories, Inc. Safety Standards, and use only as directed.

It further states that improper use of a UL listed aerosol product or use of a nonlisted aerosol product voids warranty and also may affect the sensitivity of the smoke detector.

No wonder he only uses the test button anymore.

The above would apply to residential AC/DC residential smoke detectors...

shortcircuit

#92564 03/25/05 06:45 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Anyone ever seen this? Smoke candle test. I have and only once for duct detectors. Aerosol wouldnt make it down the duct. We had to put it near the return air grate and reset the system and do it at all of the other DD's to test if the sample tubes were working properly.

And, yep, its true, you can destroy a smoke by spraying the stuff too close. I have also had inspectors who are OK with just the test button (if it has one, most addressable systems don't), but an equal amount of those who want to see full operation at each device, and want to test supervision, by pulling wires out, with the right address called back to them.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#92565 03/25/05 07:19 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
L
Member
Most of the systems I have been installing lately come with a magnet that you place in a certain spot. This sets them off. The duct detectors are the same way.

#92566 03/25/05 11:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,749
Member


Joe Tedesco, NEC Consultant

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 10
Admin 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,438 Are you busy
213,522 Re: Forum
200,401 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5