ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 07:00 PM
Norwegian power?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 06:27 PM
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/19/19 04:46 PM
Israel
by annemarie1. 04/18/19 02:35 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Breaker size for 30 hp motor #92369
03/14/05 10:54 PM
03/14/05 10:54 PM
S
sparkync  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
NC
I must be missing something. When I calculate a 30 hp. motor on 460 volts @ 40 amps, using an inverse time breaker, I get:
40 amps X 250 % = 100 amps. I just looked in my "Uglies Electrical References" book, and they calculate it as being a 70 amp. breaker. Any idea what's going on. I have a 400 amp. panel I'm getting ready to order, and I have to have the breaker sizes ready to order it. I don't want to order the wrong size breakers [Linked Image] Pretty expensive mistake. Does not 430-52 allow me to go up to the next higher rated breaker if my calculations do not correspond to a standard size?? In this particular case, 100 amp. is a standard size, but I have other ones that will not be. I figure " Ugly is probably right, but where am I going wrong?? I can't afford to calculate this job wrong. Thanks again... Steve

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Breaker size for 30 hp motor #92370
03/15/05 12:29 AM
03/15/05 12:29 AM
B
Bob  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 182
Mobile, AL, USA
It looks like your caculations are correct.
The 100 amp is the max size breaker you can use. You may not go up the the next size.
You may go to an 80 amp breaker if it will
allow the motor to start.
i don't know why Uglys would list a 70 amp.
That seems to be too small.

Re: Breaker size for 30 hp motor #92371
03/15/05 08:34 AM
03/15/05 08:34 AM
E
Electric Ian  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
MA, USA
430.52(C)(1) Exception 1 allows going to the next higher size the way I read it.

Exception No. 1: Where the values for branch-circuit short-circuit and ground-fault protective devices determined by Table 430.52 do not correspond to the standard sizes or ratings of fuses, nonadjustable circuit breakers,thermal protective devices, or possible settings of adjustable circuit breakers, a higher size, rating, or possible setting that does not exceed the next higher standard ampere rating shall be permitted.

Re: Breaker size for 30 hp motor #92372
03/15/05 10:27 AM
03/15/05 10:27 AM
R
rad74ss  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 156
Pryor, OK USA
Table 430-152 lists the maximum setting of 250%. This can be changed per 430-52(c)(1)(c)to 400% for loads of 100A or less. I think Uglies is looking at the breaker as disconnecting means per 430-110. This gives a minimum 115%. Where I work we use mimimum 150% on motor circuit breakers with a maximum of 400%. I think the only other consideration would be given to the locked rotor amp rating.

Still, 150% of 40 would be a 60 amp breaker. Are they using 175%? I can't think of any reason in particular they would use that. Edit from here, I looked at the wrong column.

[This message has been edited by rad74ss (edited 03-16-2005).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,509 Are you busy
190,750 Re: Forum
180,468 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.014s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9602 MB (Peak: 1.0905 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-21 10:21:52 UTC