ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Back From Retirement
by Bill Addiss - 08/16/22 09:19 AM
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
NEC- 314.23 (H) (1)
by renosteinke - 08/10/22 11:13 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#91137 12/31/04 03:35 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
What are we using for the splicing of the EGC for the pool lights when an outlet box enclosing a switch is part of the circuit?


George Little
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,718
Likes: 11
G
Member
I am curious about this myself. The code says "the equipment grounding conductor shall be permitted to terminate on grounding terminals on the transformer, ground-fault circuit interrupter, clock-operated switch enclosure, or an outlet box used to enclose a snap switch."
When I did my pool I ended up with a second unspliced EGC to the listed J box and ran a regular one to the box with the switch and GFCI receptacle. I suppoose you could loop the wire through the ground terminals on the box and switch unspliced but I am not sure how you can splice on a single screw.

A related question, if there is room in a box, can you use a regular "busbar" kit like you use in a panel for your grounding connections? I have seen it and I let it go because it seemed better that a cludge of wires under a wirenut but I doubt it is used as listed and per manufacturer's instructions. (there goes that "L" word again)
It really does make a neater job in one of those 3 and 4 gang boxes.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
M
Member
I use a small busbar kit in jboxes all the time. I like it when you have 6+ EGC coming in, it's better than putting a bunch of blue wirenuts together. As far as listing, I read the directions in one of the square D kits, and it said that if the enclosure has no holes to attach said bar, drill them out and attach the bar. It does not list what enclosures this can be used in. I think that you could argue this as being listed to use in a gutter or box.

Besides, it really is a nicer, more reliable way to do it.

Mike

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
George,
Look at these:
http://www.intermatic.com/?action=subcat&sid=177

They include a busbar to splice the grounds, and since you can install circuit breakers for the disconnect means, a light switch and the (required) GFCI receptacle right on them, they greatly reduce labor time in most cases.



[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 01-02-2005).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
Popular Topics(Views)
295,111 Are you busy
226,711 Re: Forum
211,866 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5