ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 31 guests, and 24 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#90767 12/09/04 11:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
Member
Hi,
Whast is the lowdown on Smoke Detectors in residential?

They are required to be wired in series now so that if one goes off they all go off?

I know I need one in each bedroom and on each level of the home, is there anything else I need to watch?

Thanks for any replies.

-regards

Greg

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
Member
What you describe is probably the best system but chec with the local fire marshal. Placement of smokes is the FD call.


ed
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
smokes(line voltage ones) are interconnected, but they are still in parallel. Smokes that are part of a FA system can be in series, but can also be parallel, depending on which set of contacts you use. Fire dept of building codes in your area is what I would use for placement.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 613
S
Member
Line voltage smoke detectors for residential are interconnected with 14-3 wire and if one sounds they all will go into alarm.I use BRK and use photo electric type within 20 feet of a bathroom or kitchen and ionization elsewhere.We use the type with battery backup.

Put 1 on each level near stairwell and add a 2nd if the floor area is over 1200sq feet. Also put 1 in each bedroom. I put heat detectors in the garage and also in an attic with mechanical equipment.Keep 3 feet away from ventilation duct feed and returns.

Connect to a AFCI circuit according to 2002 NEC.

Do not use more than 12 smoke detectors interconnected.

shortcircuit

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
Member
Hi,
Thanks for the replies. The line voltage feed is seperate from the 14/3 used to interconnect right?

I was wondering what type of cable was best to interconnect them.

All smokes on AFCI even if not in bedroom?

In the area where this house is at there is no code or inspection.

Should I even bother with interconnection? Sounds like a good idea though.

Do they have to be AC now or can they be a ten year lithium?

-regards

Greg

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 794
B
Member
We are required to place one in each bedroom, and one immediatly outside each sleeping area. They are all required to be on the same circuit, a dedicated circuit, connected with 14/3. We use the red wire for the interconnect. Since some of them are inside the bedrooms, the circuit must be on an AFCI.

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
T
Member
the interconnect is in the 14-3(Red wire). Also, when placing detectors, be sure to not place them within 4" ( I beleive) of the corner of the room, where the ceiling meets the wall. The smoke can't get to them.

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 680
W
Member
The line voltage is not seperate from the 14/3. If interconnected and not all on the same breaker phasing would be critical.

Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
Member
Hi,
Ok..14/3--BK & W = PWR & R = Signal right?

Pretty straight forward..

Makes sense too..

Why run an extra cable for signal..I gues since the conductors all have the same insulation rating there is no problem with different voltages?

I am guessing that the signal wire is a contact that is either open or closed until the system goes into alarm.

Thanks for the replies..

greg



[This message has been edited by mustangelectric (edited 12-10-2004).]

Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 51
M
Member
we are required to install 1 on each floor level, 1 in each bedroom, and 1 in the hallway just outside of the bedrooms but if other bedrooms are not within 10' of that smoke you need to install another.. it is all up to the building inspector

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,313
Joined: April 2002
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,526 Are you busy
228,341 Re: Forum
213,218 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5