ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Voltag Drop
by gfretwell - 08/18/22 08:16 PM
Back From Retirement
by Bill Addiss - 08/16/22 09:19 AM
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#90610 12/03/04 09:01 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
I've installed a 100-amp 1PH sub-panel next to a 200-amp 3PH main panel. This panel is about 20 feet from the meter without a disconnect on the meter socket. It's 4-wire, so the conduit is carrying the ground, but there is no grounded bushing. I'm concerned about the ground in the sub-panel, and would prefer not shutting down their operations to install the bushing.

I'm considering running a new wire outside the conduit for both panels to the building steel. There is only one driven rod outside now, and only for the meter socket. Any suggestions?

Also there is a paint-mixing room with flamable liquids, and the door is always open. Wouldn't this make the room next to it Class I also? By the way, this is the room with the panel and sub-panel.

Dave

Dave

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
Member
IMHO - If the 3 phase panel was installed to code, meaning #1 The conduit was was bonded on one end and the other end at least had a regular bushing on it. #2 The bonding screw was installed, bonding the grounded conductor to the panel. #3 The GEC was run to the Grounding Electrode per 250.24. I don't think I'd be worried about the equipment ground beyond that point standard grounding for a 120/240v system is adaquate. I read that that you have a 20' run of conduit from the meter to the 3 phase panel- could be an issue of location per 230.70(A). I assumed your 100a. new panel would be a sub off the 200a. As to the Class I area, sounds like someone needs to classify the area and provide documentation per 500.4(A) before we get concerned.

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]


George Little

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
Popular Topics(Views)
295,186 Are you busy
226,767 Re: Forum
211,914 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5