ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
T8 to LED retrofit-ballast or bypass?
by gfretwell - 01/19/21 08:05 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by NORCAL - 01/17/21 05:26 AM
Can I ask for your input?
by electure - 01/16/21 07:04 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 01/16/21 10:29 AM
Photo Editing Software?
by grich - 01/13/21 11:18 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Grounding & Class I Location #90610 12/03/04 08:01 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
I've installed a 100-amp 1PH sub-panel next to a 200-amp 3PH main panel. This panel is about 20 feet from the meter without a disconnect on the meter socket. It's 4-wire, so the conduit is carrying the ground, but there is no grounded bushing. I'm concerned about the ground in the sub-panel, and would prefer not shutting down their operations to install the bushing.

I'm considering running a new wire outside the conduit for both panels to the building steel. There is only one driven rod outside now, and only for the meter socket. Any suggestions?

Also there is a paint-mixing room with flamable liquids, and the door is always open. Wouldn't this make the room next to it Class I also? By the way, this is the room with the panel and sub-panel.

Dave

Dave

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Grounding & Class I Location #90611 12/04/04 12:02 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,507
G
George Little Offline
Member
IMHO - If the 3 phase panel was installed to code, meaning #1 The conduit was was bonded on one end and the other end at least had a regular bushing on it. #2 The bonding screw was installed, bonding the grounded conductor to the panel. #3 The GEC was run to the Grounding Electrode per 250.24. I don't think I'd be worried about the equipment ground beyond that point standard grounding for a 120/240v system is adaquate. I read that that you have a 20' run of conduit from the meter to the 3 phase panel- could be an issue of location per 230.70(A). I assumed your 100a. new panel would be a sub off the 200a. As to the Class I area, sounds like someone needs to classify the area and provide documentation per 500.4(A) before we get concerned.

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]

[This message has been edited by George Little (edited 12-04-2004).]


George Little

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,225
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 15
NORCAL 10
Popular Topics(Views)
274,037 Are you busy
207,809 Re: Forum
195,507 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3