ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 261 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#90583 12/01/04 12:30 AM
T
This is not a code issue but I don't know who to ask. I am a small electrical contractor in Houston, TX. In my 46 years in the trade I haven't done much residential work, just for friends and family.

I recently built a second residence in an un-incorporated area in the Texas hill country between Austin and San Antonio. There is no inspection of any kind. I had a builder build the house but did my own electrical. The builder and all the subconractors did an excellent job. I drove a ground rod on my 225 amp service and bonded to the cold water pipe. The water pipe is PVC up to the house then copper in the fill under the slab. The hot water pipes are copper and run in the slab also except on the second floor. I was even planning to bond the cold water to the hot water at the electric hot water heater. A friend of mine up there got shocked in the shower when the hot water heater element went out.

In that area of Texas builders use a real fine crushed limestone for fill since there is no bank sand available. The builder jumped on me for bonding to the cold water pipe, that it caused electrolysis. I asked the plumber his opinion and he said he thought it did too.