ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
It's been an interesting career
by gfretwell - 05/23/22 09:29 PM
Material shortages???
by HotLine1 - 05/23/22 01:56 PM
Run Cap subsitution question. Two vs. one
by LarryC - 05/20/22 09:01 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#88691 07/06/04 07:44 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
E
Member
Adding a new dedicated 20A circuit for AC plug in bedroom to an older house. Is CB required to be AFCI?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#88692 07/06/04 07:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
Yes.

Also, be sure the A/C meets the new requirement of 440.65

Quote
440.65 Leakage Current Detection and Interruption (LCDI) and Arc Fault Circuit Interrupter (AFCI).
Single-phase cord-and-plug-connected room air conditioners shall be provided with factory-installed LCDI or AFCI protection. The LCDI or AFCI protection shall be an integral part of the attachment plug or be located in the power supply cord within 300 mm (12 in.) of the attachment plug.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#88693 07/06/04 08:38 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
E
Member
HO already has older model AC but they can still use it if it does not meet 440.65 can't they?

#88694 07/06/04 10:36 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Member
Ryan why would he need to check on this. He is only installing a receptacle. This would be a manufacturer issue. Homeowner can plug in whatever they want. I bought an a/c three weeks ago without this. Do I have to unplug it?

#88695 07/07/04 09:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
Quote
Do I have to unplug it?

Yep! [Linked Image]

I aree that this is one of those sections that make the homeowner responsible for following the code...which is typically an act of futility. Its sort of like plugging in an 1875 Watt hair dryer into a 20 amp circuit with a 15 amp receptacle on it.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#88696 07/07/04 09:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 133
E
Member
Hmmm, Hey Electricmanscott can I have your A/C seeing as how you can't use it anymore ?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
LarryC 3
Popular Topics(Views)
291,365 Are you busy
223,853 Re: Forum
209,250 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5