ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Desk Mounted Powerstrips #88477 06/07/04 09:07 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline OP
Member
Hi,
What is the best method for connecting desk mounted powerstrips fed by 1/2" aluminum flex to existing single gang wall outlets? The strips are built into the desk. There are about 4 different circuits in the aluminum flex. The desk are located near exisitng outlets. Can you not remove the existing recepts and connect the flex to a single gang blank plate? The problem I see is that the mud rings are not flush with the face of the sheetrock. A regular blank single gang switchplate with a 1/2" KO will fit but after you tighten up the screws the plate is sunken in from the face. This just looks funny to me and I was wondering if there was some other way to connect to the exisitng outlets without using an extension ring.

Thanks for any replies.

Mustang

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: Desk Mounted Powerstrips #88478 06/07/04 10:27 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,218
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Mustang:
Without seeing your situation, there are "filler" made by Arlington that can take up the gap between the 'ring and the face of the wallboard. Or, an oversized (goof) blank plate with a 1/2" ko. How is the device mounted now to be NEC compliant??

What are you doing with the number of circuits??? Careful you don't have a 'situation' with what you are doing.

John


John
Re: Desk Mounted Powerstrips #88479 06/07/04 11:51 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline OP
Member
hi,
thanks for the reply. the desk were purchased by the customer from a third party. they have never been connected at their office before.

I am only connecting one circuit to each desk. They did not want to run a seperate circuit for each circuit feeding the desk.

I do not see any violation connecting all of the feeders at each desk to a single circuit feeding each desk. There are only two people at each desk. They do not plan on having any heavy loads at these desk since they are for telemarketing. Maybe a computer a clock and a radio.

They have a 20A circuit feeding each desk.

Thanks again for the replies.

Mustang

[This message has been edited by mustangelectric (edited 06-07-2004).]


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,007 Are you busy
205,895 Re: Forum
193,949 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3