ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 26 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#88477 06/07/04 10:07 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
Member
Hi,
What is the best method for connecting desk mounted powerstrips fed by 1/2" aluminum flex to existing single gang wall outlets? The strips are built into the desk. There are about 4 different circuits in the aluminum flex. The desk are located near exisitng outlets. Can you not remove the existing recepts and connect the flex to a single gang blank plate? The problem I see is that the mud rings are not flush with the face of the sheetrock. A regular blank single gang switchplate with a 1/2" KO will fit but after you tighten up the screws the plate is sunken in from the face. This just looks funny to me and I was wondering if there was some other way to connect to the exisitng outlets without using an extension ring.

Thanks for any replies.

Mustang

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#88478 06/07/04 11:27 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,313
Likes: 7
Member
Mustang:
Without seeing your situation, there are "filler" made by Arlington that can take up the gap between the 'ring and the face of the wallboard. Or, an oversized (goof) blank plate with a 1/2" ko. How is the device mounted now to be NEC compliant??

What are you doing with the number of circuits??? Careful you don't have a 'situation' with what you are doing.

John


John
#88479 06/07/04 12:51 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
Member
hi,
thanks for the reply. the desk were purchased by the customer from a third party. they have never been connected at their office before.

I am only connecting one circuit to each desk. They did not want to run a seperate circuit for each circuit feeding the desk.

I do not see any violation connecting all of the feeders at each desk to a single circuit feeding each desk. There are only two people at each desk. They do not plan on having any heavy loads at these desk since they are for telemarketing. Maybe a computer a clock and a radio.

They have a 20A circuit feeding each desk.

Thanks again for the replies.

Mustang

[This message has been edited by mustangelectric (edited 06-07-2004).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,289
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,409 Are you busy
228,264 Re: Forum
213,161 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5