ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
AFDD's coming to the UK
by Texas_Ranger - 01/17/23 07:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 11 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#87308 02/10/04 01:15 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
F
frodo Offline OP
Member
looking for advice as to how to handle the following job.

existing 1200 sq foot home w/ existing 125A main load center in basement. adding large 1100 sq.ft room addtions. need to locate a panel close to the new addition to save time and trouble routing new ckts.

must leave existing 125A load center in place.

plan to locate main near meterbase. no main in new load center.

what size service?
tap or feed existing loadcenter from new panel or from gutter?

thanks for any advice...220.10?

frodo

[This message has been edited by frodo (edited 02-10-2004).]

[This message has been edited by frodo (edited 02-10-2004).]

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#87309 02/10/04 02:16 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
How about a new 200 amp 40 circuit panel? Feed old panel with 125 amp breaker from new panel. Separate neutrals and grounds in old panel, remove bonding screw/jumper. Locate new panel close to new addition, feed old panel with SER. Grounding electrode conductors will need to be re-routed/replaced and connected to main disconnect outside by meter.

Meter base will likely need to be replaced as well. I like the combo meter/main units, they are neater.


Earl
#87310 02/10/04 02:33 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 129
F
frodo Offline OP
Member
thanks for the reply. that was my original plan but I was just looking for alternative ways.
i was planning on a 200A main behind the meterbase in the garage...owner wants main inside. panel needs to be where the action is...downstairs basement.

i figured that a 200A panel would do it.

i am not sure what you mean by:

"Grounding electrode conductors will need to be re-routed/replaced and connected to main disconnect outside by meter."...where i am in LOUISVILLE, KY they will not allow you to ground the meterbase...it has to come from the loadcenter...if that is what you mean..we go from the loadcenter to the ground rod and the waterline...

i was planning to run a se cable from the load side of the main down to the new 200A panel..

the grounded and grounding conductor will be insided the se


thanks

frdo

#87311 02/10/04 07:04 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 33
J
Member
I agree with earlydean, but I would Install the 200A panel inside adjacent to the 125A with a 10X10 trough below with appropriate nipples between. And add a 100A sub-panel for the new addition via 2/3 MC. So the 125A and 100A are your two sub panels. If budget allows entertain the possibility of a 400A to allow for even further expansion.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,291
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 9
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
302,480 Are you busy
231,874 Re: Forum
216,499 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5