ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 15 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#86812 12/14/03 04:07 PM
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
Can i install a double pole 100Amp breaker into a 125Amp main lug 24circuit panel and call it the main disconnect for that subpanel?
Please give NEC sections.


edward


Thanks
Edward
Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
408.16(F) permits this type of installation.

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
Member
You need to make sure the loadcenter is listed for using a back-fed main breaker and if so they often will only permit it in a specific location which is designed to accept the required hold down kit. This information should be on the label. Many newer loadcenters are designed to accept main breaker kits that mount in place of the main lugs.

Curt


Curt Swartz
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
E
Edward Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the reply.
Can i back feed the busbars with a 100Amp breaker and call that the main? Or it has to be a kit that goes in the place of the main lugs?

Edward


Thanks
Edward
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
C
Member
Yes, you can back feed a breaker in the loadcenter if the instructions on the loadcenter say you can. You are required to secure the back fed breaker so you must purchase a hold down kit that fits the breaker and loadcenter. The hold down kits often will only fit in the one designated position in the loadcenter. If there are provisions to replace the main lugs with a main breaker that is usually the better way to go. Many Square D and GE loadcenters have main breaker kits to replace the main lugs.

Curt


Curt Swartz
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,157
Joined: May 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,687 Are you busy
228,470 Re: Forum
213,324 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5