ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
Siemens breakers
by gfretwell - 09/23/22 01:45 PM
What do you look like?II
by HotLine1 - 09/22/22 12:33 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 38 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#86421 10/23/03 09:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 62
J
johnd24 Offline OP
Member
Has anyone ever installed a 300 amp. service for a new single family dwelling.If so can i parellel 4/0 alum. to line side of meter socket....can i come off of load side of meter socket with 4/0 alum to feed my 200 amp. m.b. panel and #2 off of load side of meter socket to feed my 100 amp. m.b. panel.
Of course using double lugs.
Thanks !!!!!

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

#86422 10/23/03 09:52 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
Unless I'm reading this wrong, I would say you're O.K. The only thing I'm wondering is where your disconnects for the service entrance conductors will be. Aslo, as you describe it, be aware that you will need a 1/0 grounding electrode conductor, not a number 2. By the way, I've never seen a 300 amp panel...who makes it?


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#86423 10/23/03 10:14 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 62
J
johnd24 Offline OP
Member
The panels with main breakers will be located within 3' of the meter socket,in the basement of the home.One will be a 200 amp. main breaker panel the other right next to it will be a 100 amp. main breaker panel.
#2 is not the grounding electrode conductor,its the load side of the meter socket to my 100 amp. panel.
I will have double lugs in my meter socket 1 set of lugs will have 4/0 alum. wire for the 200 amp. panel,the other set of lugs will have # 2 alum. for the 100 amp. panel.

#86424 10/23/03 10:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
I think you'll be O.K.

BTW: I understood what you meant with the number 2, I was just sizing the GEC by the combined circular mills of the service entrance conductors for my own practice as much as anything.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
#86425 10/24/03 12:20 AM
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Member
See 250.66(A)for GEC size. If the electrode is rod, pipe or plate, and is the sole connection, #6 cu or #4 al.

#86426 10/24/03 06:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 62
J
johnd24 Offline OP
Member
Thanks again guys !!!!

#86427 11/04/03 01:51 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
I have to do one next week..... Around here we do it as a 320a service*, 2- 200a feeder. It comes as a single package meter/main combo. The two main cb's can be swaped out for whatever you like, under 200a of course.
B-line makes them, and I think Cut Ham does too. (* our Utility here frowns on any single residence getting a 400a service, but they allow this. )


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CharlieE
CharlieE
Indianapolis
Posts: 201
Joined: April 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Popular Topics(Views)
297,396 Are you busy
228,255 Re: Forum
213,158 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5