ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Photo Editing Software?
by Fridayrack - 12/03/21 05:05 AM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by NORCAL - 11/30/21 12:48 PM
Where is Everyone?
by luckyshadow - 11/21/21 10:14 AM
It's been an interesting career
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:56 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by The Watt Doctor - 11/19/21 09:17 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 35 guests, and 21 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#8604 03/29/02 06:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 6
C
Junior Member
Hello everyone,
I was wondering if anyone had any idea on where I can get a CT for a 3000 amp service. I'm trying to monitor the KWH consumption for my facility and the largest CT I can find is a 2000 amp. Maybe if no one knows of any CTs that big they can give me some info on how I might accomplish my goal. These pulse inputs are going back to a monitoring device called a gateway which can be accessed anywhere through a modem. Thanks for any help.
Chris

#8605 03/29/02 09:04 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Member
Could you monitor one of a parallel group and have your software multiply the results by the number of conductors?
(Forgive my ignorance)

#8606 04/01/02 09:39 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
Check out a company called Flex-Core at http://www.flex-core.com. They make all sorts of different CTs, including split core styles for mounting on existing cables.

Square D also lists window style units up to 6000:5 ratios and split cores to 5000:5

#8607 04/02/02 10:15 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3
B
Junior Member
Chris,

Most CT's will have a "rating factor" (RF). For instance, if the CT was a 2000 amp unit with an RF of 2, then the thermal capability would be 4000 amps.

Because of this, it is not always necessary to "match" the CT size to the service size.

Feel free to email me if you have more questions.

Bob

#8608 04/03/02 10:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
While bgautreau is technically correct concerning "rating factor", you must still take into account your transformer ratio.

In your case a 2000:5 CT is a 400 to 1 ratio, so when it is used on a 4000A service it will provide an output of 10A. Your measuring equipment may not be able to deal with this large of a value.

The rating factor should only be used to allow for momentary overcurrents (i.e. motor start-up)which do not need to be be measured accurately

#8609 04/03/02 08:26 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,283
Likes: 3
Member
Try National Meter Industries www.national-meter.com
or 1-800-325-6674
They have any ct's and are very helpful

John


John
#8610 04/03/02 08:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 4,042
Likes: 3
Member
Chris,

You can ask the "Meter Guy"
at: http://www.themeterguy.com/splash.htm

Bill


Bill
#8611 04/14/02 11:09 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
They're around but the freight might be stiff.
http://www.geindustrial.com/cwc/products?pnlid=5&id=insttran

Assuming window CTs with big enough windows, how about a pair of 1500:5 units in series?


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
timmp
timmp
Leo, IN, USA
Posts: 28
Joined: June 2004
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 3
dsk 2
Popular Topics(Views)
286,517 Are you busy
218,946 Re: Forum
205,071 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5